My Ankle Joint Rupture - What a unlucky mess!

in #sports6 years ago

Präsentation1.jpg

Dear Steemians,
it has been a while since I've posted something and there is much to be told, but the most recent event is definitely my ankle joint rupture - actually multiple of them referring to my right one.
After all the trouble and the fact that I am now able to use my foot again, I thought it would be quiet interesting to deal with the topic and its theoretical background - so here we go!

What happened?


Well ... I drilled one run over and over again and I was already quiet exhausted since it happend close the end of my training session. I was so focused on the last move that I was not concentrating on the previous jumps - resulting in a lack of body tension!
Jumping from one obstacle to another my foot barely connected to the next one and I sprained my ankle.
I have to mention that at this point my ankle was already predamaged, so it was more prone for a serious injury, but it could have still been easily avoidable - bad luck I'd say ...


This is how I felt in that moment ...

E = ½ · m · v² sucks!


Just to understand the theoretical background: velocity has a much bigger impact on the kinetic energy than mass.
If you double the mass, you double the energy - but if you double the speed, you quadruplicate the energy!
At that time I weight about 85 kilos (I got a bit skinnier now) and jumping is always connected to speed - comprehensible right?
The problem with ligaments is that they are not as elastic as e.g. a tendon, therefore an ligament injury in e.g. the ankle joint is the most common trauma you are confronted with in sports.
Nevertheless there are always a lot of factors leading to an injury - bad luck might also be one of them!

What is the result?


First of all - enjoy some low quality pictures of my ankle!
I actually didn't intended to do a post back then (reason for those smartphone photos), but due to its whole extent there is now away around that I guess, so have a look if you are not scared of a humans foot.




When my doc saw the mess, he bet that it was broken - actually it was not!
Besides of a lot of ankle bruises and strains (especially in my Achilles tendon and my calve muscles) I got a huge effusion of blood (haematoma) that got worse and worse and a oedema that made my calf feel like sludge. The most damage was done to two of my outer ankle ligaments. The CFL and ATL were partially ruptured to a high degree, so that they almost snapped. Therefore an operation was not necessary. Nevertheless it is nice to know that it is easier to recover from a total ligament rupture than from a partial rupture, but you should never underestimate an surgery.


The Ligaments of the Human Ankle

Image source: Wikimedia Commons [Link]


My ankle got supportet by a I had to walked on my left leg supported by crutches for couple of weeks, which was really annoying considering that we are in the winter season here - it was so dangerously slippery! My Doctor even had a suspicion after 2-3 weeks that I might be affected of thrombosis even though I took prophylaxis injections daily to prevent that from happening - luckily he was completely wrong with that.
My approx. 1 h road to my educational institute escalated to a 2 h survival trip. I slipped at least once per day, but luckily I never hit the ground.

For now I am working with my physiotherapist to help my ankle to work properly again. I am able to walk now, but I am really far away of having the conditions of a sportsman.
Unfortunately I had a similar injury concerning that joint a couple of years ago, so even after its full recovery it will stay thicker than my left one - I can live with that!
The really hard part will be the fight against my muscular imbalances between my two legs as well as the general mobility.
I think I will share with you guys some insights on my rehabilitation training, which might be interesting!
Until then...


Leave your thoughts in the comment section!

See you soon! #SteemOn

Noogie

Sort:  

Good luck with the recovery sir. Also focus on getting your ROM (Range of motion) back. In my opinion this is even more crucial than the muscular imbalances.

Thanks mate I will keep that in mind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60