Backroll

in #sports6 years ago

Once you learn how to ride up wind and have started to load and pop. The natural next progression for tricks is to learn how to backroll.
A backroll, when fully inverted, looks like a back flip with the kite attached. But really it is just a rotation backward in the air around the kite lines. It may seem like a daunting next step in your progression, and you may be afraid that the crashes are going to hurt. But trust me, the crashes are mellow, and YOU CAN DO IT!

Remember, when you crash the best thing to do is to sheet the bar all the way out or even let go of the bar. The WORST thing you could do is sheet in and steer the kite to try to gain control back... this typically leads to powered up crashes. Which tend to hurt really bad. So, don't do that.

The steps to completing a backroll are simple.

  • load and pop as you bring the kite a bit higher in the window
  • look over your back shoulder to initiate the rotation back
  • keep steering pressure on you front hand
  • as you rotate around the kite lines spot your landing and steer the kite back down.
  • spin the bar one rotation to untwist the lines

hopefully I will figure out how to upload my videos soon and make better instructionals

Happy Kiting! cheers

Sort:  

Always wanted to try surfing but damn, it seems too extreme. Sick post though! 😎

surfing is much more difficult, actually. You should go for it if you get the chance.

Well done ..
The best way to improve is continuous exercise
For more creativity .. Thank you for your words..

Well done. How did you get the first photo? I see no wake as if you were in a leading vehicle...

great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

hello friends I hope they are good as your post, is very good and great and the image too, you can count on my vote and my comment, without anything else to say I say goodbye for NOW your friend @manduto are wanted

It is easier reading it than doing it, but practice makes perfect. And at this point it's obvious that you completely dominate the sport. I'm sure you would greatly enjoy my beautiful Isla de Margarita. It is an incredible place and you would do what you love all day without stopping. You have a friend here. Regards.

Looks awesome @ourdailyboard!
Please follow me, best regards @mrandreas

beautiful pictures, I love them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80