A tribute to my love of billiards and how the APA changed my life.

in #sports6 years ago

Roughly 4 1/2 years ago I joined a community known as the APA. The American Poolplayers Association. I figured it would be a fun way to meet other people that loved the game as much as myself. I had no idea that this one, seemingly insignificant, commitment would change my life forever.
Within the first month of playing with my team. I quickly realized I was not the great player that I believed myself to be. It was an incredibly humbling experience and one that I am proud to have been a part of.
After countless hours practicing and attempting to hone my craft. I was forced to admit that I knew very little, if anything, about the actual sport itself.
Through the mentoring of my teams captains and other members of the APA I still feel as though everything that I have learned over these past 4 1/2 years is merely a drop in a bucket the size of the sea.
From the basic fundamentals. Such as stance and the proper way to stroke a cue. To the subtle descisions one must make on a whim. Given the multitude of possible scenarios that can play out if you miss one single shot. If you decided to go all in and miss your mark by mere inches. These little things can be the difference between a glorious victory or an embarrassing defeat.
Beyond all of the knowledge that I have gained since joining the APA. The best part is, without question, the friends and relationships that have come from my descision to become a member of the league. My teammates have become more family than friends and that's worth more than anything in the world to me.1516915902370140505093.jpg

Sort:  

I love to play pools....I usually play on my smartphone...

My preferred app is called 8-ball pool. Which one do you use?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.12
ETH 2932.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62