I HAVE A DREAM (A TALE OF A WOMAN FOOTBALLER IN AFRICA)

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

b2.jpg

line.pngAs a young girl growing up from Ghana in West Africa, I was made to believe the role of a woman is to be in the kitchen and to be submissive to whom she marries in future. But I Ama Abebrese (Ghanaian Name) had a different perspective about what I want to be in future, I lived close to what you will call an African park ( gravels as grass and the barefoot as authentic football boots) I usually sneak to watch as the guys play football, I became so obsessed and fantasied how the game was played and the theory of how individuals have to synergies to score a goal to achieve the goal of winning, I decided I wanted to be a footballer against all odds, it was then seen as a taboo for a lady to be on the field let alone play football.
line.png
b1.jpg

line.png
As odd as it was I envisioned myself as a professional footballer in future though it seemed so impossible, considering the factors such as tradition, social and gender suppression from the place am coming from . Ridiculed a lot by peers. I got inspired when it was announced that women football is now officially part of the FIFA football games, finally the light at the end of the tunnel.
line.png
b3.jpg

I was so lucky to be part of the schools first girls team, where I can say I started playing football with the spirit of professionalism, it didn't take long for my physical education teacher to realize the potential in me, I was quickly transferred from the village to the city to attend Bonde's soccer academy where I had professional football trainers.
I once stood at the far post after a training session and watched the field and then I realized my dream was gradually becoming a reality.
line.png
b5.jpg

line.png
I just realized my dreams when I was called to represent my country at the national women team, I wept through the night casting my mind to when I first decided I would become a football player, the social and physiological stress I have to endure and finally after playing for smaller clubs my hard work and dedication with passion has landed me here, a national player.
line.png
b7.jpg

line.png
Will end by saying its really good to dream big and work towards it, it doesn't matter where you come from what your skin color is and what your gender is, just be passionate about it and take a first bold step toward your dream.If I was able to make it you too can definitely achieve greater heights.
line.png
b9.jpg

line.png
The game brings us together not matter where and whom you are, we shout, jump and embracing each other when a goal is scored
We are one people with equal destiny, our dreams and passions move us, we just need the motivation and encouragement to take the first step into the path of success and dream attainment.
line.png
b8.jpgb11.jpg

SLINE 2.png

Sort:  

Itsblack...the spirit of Africa...#teamghana

I Upvoted and I resteemd your post to my 3080 followers :) i predict it will get above $3.88 where it is now, i predict it will get to at least $10 when i show @thejohalfiles and @stellabelle (who will love this female african inspiration story, its exactly what shes looking for and u can network with @ogoowinner ) and also i will alert @adept to this and lets see i bet @battleaxe would also like to see her fellow waman getting some attention especially for such an inspiring beautiful story of overcoming the odds as a woman in Africa. Its perfect story for steemit! Id love to see e steemit reward heartfelt sincere stories like this!

Wow, I have for the first time on steemit platform feel so belonging because people like you appreciate our little effort added all the way from Ghana. Am really thank you.

Yes steemit will make you feel like you have a second family on the internet! Just keep giving us great stories like that and updates show us photos of your soccer games and soon you will be a big star here in steemit and will be able to really become a great example to young people who will see your income and work on steemit as a great example of how Anyone can do ANYTHING even make lots of money from their smartphone and internet! Its a miracle in a way, and it will only keep getting better!

Look Nigeria and ghana are high on the list of Google Trends nations searching for Steemit keyword,

look nigeria is even #7 out of all nations for steemit searches

And look here is a map of steemit for africa showing ghana with a lot oif steemit activity!

We can help you and your nation have ahead start in the new crypto currency world!

this is good news for Ghana. WE are still spreading it here

i wanna let you and @tj4real know that I have resteemed this post,

and i will start maybe resteeming posts about all the new people tj and u have broughtto steemit, man TJ just keeps bringing people on board! its great! the more people on stemit in ghana the more people in ghana can get some steempower before steem gets expensive!

this is like if you would have been able to buy bitcoin for everyone in your village when it was just $1 each!!!

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 25.00 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @ryankofi. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

This post reminds of an article I read early on today @mcsamm on purpose. People who really enjoy life are those who have discovered what they are born to do. I'm really inspired by this great story, thanks and continue with the good work.. #teamghana

Thank you, it feels great coming from you.

Heart touch post....really enjoyed reading it.....nice post

Nice piece, keep it up

This post received a 80% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @ryankofi! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! . this is @originalworks . steem @steemprice BTC

$5147.4 USD/BTC
Volume: 76804.09 BTC ($395341017.8 USD)
Last Updated Thu Oct 12 10:05:39 2017


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post ID on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post ID on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ryankofi to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 23.53 % upvote from thanks to: @ryankofi, @ryankofi.
For more information, click here!

@ryankofi, @ryankofi take part of the @minnowhelper's 50 SBD Contest. For more information, click here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75