This NFL Player donated his 2017 salary to charity.

in #sports6 years ago

The Eagles’ Chris Long is playing football for free this year and he has no regrets.

He says, “I always thought maybe it would be cool to play for free. I thought it would be a personal test to see if I’m really the guy I’d like to be.”

ap_17309584639874.jpg

Long gave up his first 6 paychecks this season to fund a scholarship for students in his hometown of Charlottesville, VA. Now he’s using the other 10 to launch ‘Pledge 10 for Tomorrow’, a campaign that will help needy kids in Philly, Boston, & St. Louis pursue education. Long made $1.5M in guaranteed money this season, between his base salary and signing bonuses. He’s also received another $180K in matching donations from fans, fellow players, and private businesses.

chris-long.jpg

Long is one the NFL’s most outspoken figures on social issues and he even came to the defence of Colin Kaepernick when his charity work was directly compared to Kaepernick’s activism.

He tweeted(JOEL9ONE), “ZERO interest in being used as the anti-Colin. I support Colin’s right to protest, and what he’s protesting. He deserves a job in the NFL. He’s donated as much $ as I have to social causes.

la-et-jc-colin-kaepernick-20171025.jpg

He also tweeted(JOEL9ONE), “So if you like me all the sudden because you saw on the news that I do a lot of charity work and I’d like to improve America, you should probably give Colin and others a second look.


2018.jpg

Sort:  

This is amazing! I can not believe this is the first I have heard of this. What an amazing gesture. Most people in his position forget about the power their wealth and fame bring them. Glad to see him using it for good.

Beautiful heart he's got
Thats nice of him

Hello, please follow the rules of the group ►Resteem to steemit◄ and you will be upvoted by me and resteemed by the most active members in the group.

You have to resteem someone from the group !

You have to resteem someone from the group to post in the group, and when you post send just the link of the post without no words with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54