Dustin Poirier may be next for Khabib Nurmagomedov

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

What can we say about Dustin Poirier that has not already been said, the man has come so far in his career in recent years. After a bumpy ride to the top and back down at featherweight, Dustin was running out of options, the weight cuts began to get harder and harder, and he was having difficulty performing with top 5 featherweights. After little consideration I assume, the only way for Dustin was up.

Moving up to lightweight has easily been the best decision of Dustin's professional career to date, he has had much success since moving up and has never looked better, his overall game has improved dramatically.

Record since moving to Lightweight

As you can see he has secured 5 bouses since moving up, and has been fighting top guys. Now whether he stands a chance against Khabib, I'm not to sure, but of all the guys in the Lightweight division, Porrier or Alvarez make the most sense right now.

They both just knocked out Justin Gaethje in two absolutely insane fight, Conor is due in court soon, Ferguson is recovering from surgery and Barboza and Lee are fighting this weekend, so that leaves Eddie and Dustin, who themselves had a no contest fight last year, due to an illegal knee mistakenly being landed by Alvarez.

If Khabib is willing to stay active, I think Dustin is the fight to make, or maybe if Khabib wants a small rest, Dustin and Eddie could have a number 1 contender rematch, I know I'd watch it, their last fight was wild before it finished the way it did. Lemme know your thoughts below.

MMA News:

MMA Youtube Channels:

UFC Pay-Per-Views  - http://www.ufc.tv/events

UFC Rankings - http://www.ufc.com/rankings

Upcoming events - http://www.ufc.com/schedule/event

UFC Fight Pass Free Trial - https://www.ufc.tv/packages


Sort:  

Poirier is certainly a contender and his recent defeat of gaethje was a great victory but in my opinion the ground game of khabib is just devastating. Khabib literally embarrassed just about everyone he has fought. Poirier was in big trouble on the gaethje fight but was able to secure a ko. Time will tell but if khabib gets his shot I see him winning a bout with either dustin or tony.

Great post dude, so I think that maybe Dustin or Eddie will rematch for the interim IF conor steps in to fight khabib soonish, like an August/September date or something with these 2 co main event.

If not, assuming conor is out for another long while or fight Floyd or whatever... I guess I would give khabib Alvarez, and Dustin the Winner. This is also providing Tony takes a while to heal. I mean, Tony is for sure the #1, and he deserves that spot 100%. We gotta get Tony vs khabib, I want that more than conor vs khabib. Conor’s been holding it up, so he needs to fight soon or be out for a year and let em all go at it.

How long you think will Tony take to recover? I feel like he’s the best

Tony is a pure beast, but I'm not sure he's the best just yet, he needs to put away some more top 5 guys, It's looking like he could even be out the rest of the year, he had to get pretty serious surgery on his knee. I think we'll Khabib Porrier or Khabib Alvarez next.

Shit that sucks for Tony! Him beating khabib would have solidified it, but yea he does need to beat a few more top 5s! So does khabib to be fair...
who do you think has a better chance to beat khabib out of porrier or Alvarez?

Yeah the lightweight division is going to be wild over the next year. Honestly I think Alvarez would stand a better chance, his wresting is far Superior to Porriers.

I think you may be correct. I don't see the Conor fight being made anytime soon with all the recent rumors coming to light. Such as UFC adding a 165lb division with the new tv deal they have rumored to secure. Plus the rumor of Floyd vs. Conor special rules match in the UFC.

If the 165 lb division rumor is true, I bet Conor lobbys and gets first crack at becoming the first ever UFC 165 lb champion. Possibly showcasing Conor vs. Nate Diaz 3.

I actualy didn't think of that man, but I think after everything that has gone on, we just have to see him and Conor fight now, it's been blown up so much, it's the fight to make.

I agree but Conor is all about money and belts. He picks both over a fight with Khabib Nurmagomedov.

If The rumored TV deal between UFC / ESPN and NBC is true then I am almost certain we see Conor fight for the 165 lb belt next.

While I think we would for sure see him give that division a go, I don't think the UFC would want to miss out on the possible massive payday that is Khabib McGregor.

Highly doubt it…

We shall see, it will be one of the two if Khabib is turning around quickly.

I think that Poirier Vs Khabib will happen and quite quickly too. He is the most deserving of the contenders not injured or in court.

I think Khabib has to defend it soon too. After all his talking about Conor not defending it and stuff he needs to get at least one defence in before he gets injured again and then looks a fool.

My thoughts exactly man.

Bro Your post is beast i always like your post...

wow,,its Dustin Poirier who is awesome
“I’ve paid my dues,” Poirier said in the FS2 post-fight show (via MMAjunkie). “I’ve put nothing but hard work in. I’ve been close to the mountaintop and I’ve been knocked down. I’ve shown resilience and fortitude and I’ve done it over and over again to put myself back in the position I’m in, and I’m hitting my stride as a father, a fighter, a husband and a person. I’m ready to go, and gold is next. I smell it. I feel it in the air.”

I really hope the title fight is next for him, he deserves it.

This post has received a 13.72 % upvote from @boomerang.

...wow they are great
i like

UFC lightweight contender Dustin Poirier engaged in another classic, this time knocking out Justin Gaethje in Saturday’s unforgettable UFC on FOX 29 main event. The fourth-round stoppage marked Poirier’s sixth win in his last eight fights, and “The Diamond” made it clear that he wants to fight current champion Khabib Nurmagomedov in his next fight.

It was a wild fight alright.

i think

Dustin Poirier has only one thing on his mind after one of the most emotionally taxing, physically demanding fights of his career.

Gold.

“The Diamond” isn’t interested in a rematch with rival Eddie Alvarez at this juncture. Another go with Conor McGregor is not something he’s making a top priority. What Poirier wants — and what he tried his damnedest to earn Saturday night — is a shot a Khabib Nurmagomedov and the UFC lightweight title.

Poirier beat the iron-chinned Justin Gaethje by fourth-round TKO in the main event of UFC on FOX 29 in Glendale, Ariz., in an early favorite for 2018 Fight of the Year. The Louisiana native dished out an incredible amount of punishment and received plenty back, especially to his now very damaged right leg.

Yeah man, he's got his eyes on that belt now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55