How Would You Describe Aussie Rules Football? INSANE!

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I stumbled upon @slowwalker's page...

What an inspiration! After briefly feeling some FOMO, I realized -- I've done some interesting stuff too, maybe I should share them.

I opened up my photo album and came across these pictures from when I was in Melbourne a few years back.

Back then I didn't know there were different versions of football across the globe. Canadians have their CFL, most people play real futbol, a la soccer, and then there's rugby.

When I entered the arena, I immediately noticed this sign.

1.jpg

How could I not have a good time?!

They'll report you if you don't and kick you out :P.

2.jpg

Upon entering it's important to pick up some refreshments.

3.jpg

Ah, that's more like it. Now time to find my seat.

4.jpg

Not bad at all! I visited in the winter so it wasn't as crowded as it usually get, and I'm pretty sure the teams I was watching weren't super good at the time. Either way, it was cool be to so close.

5.jpg

The rules are different than standard NFL football:

  • There are no pads
  • The field is an oval
  • You have to bounce the ball every few steps while running
  • Tou have to kick the ball through the center poles to get 5 or 6 points, but if you miss you still get one point if it goes through the two side poles (weird you get points for missing).
  • To pass you can toss the ball behind you, punch it forward, or kick it.
  • If you kick the ball and your teammate catches it, the opponent can't touch them for a certain amount of time.
  • The list goes on...

6.jpg

It was a blast! Watching people jump on each other to score points was thrilling!

If you're in Australia during the AFL season, do yourself a favor and check out a game!


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon

Sort:  

This is one of the things I'm bummed we didn't do our first time in Australia! Too busy eating meat pies and sipping on Aussie beers ;)

Yeah, we basically wrote off Melbourne. No reason we can't go back and correct this wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66