Shibuno gets lead at Women's British Open on dream debut

in #sportstalk5 years ago

23-22-39-AP19215582764773.jpg

Image Source

The 20-year-old Shibuno, a new kid on the block on the Japan LPGA Tour who is making her LPGA Tour and real title debut, birdied six of the last gaps in the round to get to 14-under 202.

"It's unquestionably surpassing my desires," said Shibuno, nicknamed Smiling Cinderella. "I came in needing to make the cut, so right now I have an inclination that I'm accomplishing something entirely mind blowing."

Medium-term pioneer Ashleigh Buhai began with a three-shot lead at Woburn Golf Club and extended it to five when Shibuno came up short Nos. 5 and 9.

"I was really vexed after the three-putt intruder on the ninth," Shibuno said. "In any case, after the second shot on the tenth gap, I had the option to bring myself back."

Buhai staggered with three intruder in five openings. The 30-year-old South African, who has always lost on the LPGA Tour, had a 72 to drop to second at 12 under.

"I played my initial nine holes most likely the best ball-striking I could have had. Hit great shots," Buhai said. "Turned 2 under, birdied my tenth to go to 3-nder and hit two poor wedge shots on 11 and 12, ordinarily my solid point. Give the three-putt a chance to shake me on No. 12.

"I'm still here, two shots behind going into the last round playing in the last gathering. On the off chance that you let me know toward the start of the week, I would have taken it."

Second-positioned Sung Hyun Park was another shot back after an intruder free 68.

Top-positioned Jin Young Ko and Americans Morgan Pressel and Lizette Salas were tied for fourth on 10 under. Ko (68) is looking for her third significant title of the year in the wake of winning the Evian Championship a week ago in France. Pressel had a 66, and Salas shot 70.

Safeguarding champion Georgia Hall was 10 shots back after a 74.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98