Fall Out From the Roy Keane Interview Last Week

in #sportstalk5 years ago

Screenshot 20190909 at 21.48.17.png
img
A few days ago I was up in Dublin for the Roy Keane and Gary Neville interview and I post about it . Keane said some controversial stuff about a couple of Irish players, John Walters bearing the brunt of it. The full interview which is 2 hours is here
It is well worth the watch if you followed Manchester United back in their glory days. The standards was high and Keane did not take any prisoners. If standards dropped then Keane was there to make sure it was sorted out. This is why United won what they won. Keane is in his 50's now and he is still like the pantomime villain in Ireland. And he certainly played the part in that interview with the stares and the witty timing of his comebacks. The interviewers had a hard time controlling the structure of the night. Everyone was there to see Keane but the hosts had to make sure that Neville had sufficient air time. I felt some niggles between the host Joe Molloy and Gary Neville. Molloy was trying to control the structure and Neville found that the interviewer wasn't letting him talk.
Joe is considered one of the best sports news anchors around and he is experienced at handling interviews. He is a rugby anchor on TV3 and I don't think Neville realised quite who he was dealing with. Neville responded to a tweet the day after the interview. This is the tweet.
Screenshot 20190909 at 21.12.58.png
img
There are not many ex players that could even shine the shoes of this guy so I don't know where Neville is going with that one. A well known Manchester journalist called Andy Mitten stuck up for Joe as he knows his body of work.
Screenshot 20190909 at 21.16.40.png
img
Neville backed back somewhat when he realised the backlash from slagging off a journalist with a stellar reputation.

Everyone was waiting for Jon Walters to respond to Keano's comments and I found his reply pretty immature really. It wasn't a good comeback really. It really just proved Roy had a point. Jon is hard.
Screenshot 20190909 at 21.22.40.png
img
He later came out with a reply which was a bit more like it.

''It doesn’t bother me one single bit what he says. I clearly bother him but he doesn’t bother me one bit.I've never been a person to hold grudges. There's plenty of things I could say and routes I could take.Whenever I get asked a question I always give a straight, honest answer. That's me, I have no allegiances, no loyalties. As I say I don't hold grudges.I'm the one who approached him in the Ireland camp to make up, but each person is different, each person is unique."

Hmmmm I wonder whose face he wanted to beat in then if it didn't bother him.
Ward and Artur have yet to reply to Keane's criticisms but people are not happy with what he said about Walters going on TV and having an emotional interview on the Late Late Show.
Screenshot 20190909 at 21.41.45.png
img
Screenshot 20190909 at 21.41.17.png
img

The fallout is still happening. I thought what he siad about Ferguson's nepotism was gold but the headlines did not pick up on it. The bottom line is Roy Keane is entertainment gold.

Sort:  

Football and footballers are soft these days I get the angle of Keane and the criticism, the guy was a beast during his time

Cool blog bro keep sharing ☺.

Support your sports post (by SPORTS Token and MARLIANS Token)
From @hertz300

A footballer is supposed to be a proper man, but it looks like in the last decade mostly, many of them turned into "gentle flowers". If you can't handle the truth, don't throw your crap in front of the fan. This was a telepathic message directed to Walters 🤪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95