An August review - still on track for my 1/2 marathon

in #sportstalk5 years ago (edited)

5s4dzRwnVbzGM3JdycGKFQo7ALS3GhuMGL8qbG8zfSd9jRZzHBnZu2PAvBeJbfNpeG748W3jNwxdxsMd33gqiLwsDNHXk1YYDb5gpvnJ5Pz5np2NUaBagSGkTFj8nubRQ5RgvhUk4WuRLak6Y9cfgtPoB6K6RoVsXkvzZnW.jpeg

With just a month to go till the big day, there are not many more days left to get my miles in, before the Cardiff 1/2 marathon starts.

August came.... August went.... These months just seem to be flying by now. I was a little off my target for the month, but the runs I did do, I was happy with.

Screenshot_20190907_094632.jpg

I managed to cover a total of of 54 miles, which doesn't sound a lot, but was mostly made up of short, sharp 2 & 3 mile runs.

With an average time of 9mins 15sec required by me to complete the 1/2 marathon in a sub 2hour time, I worked on getting these shorter runs under 8:45 per mile.

Screenshot_20190907_100122.jpg

Screenshot_20190907_100144.jpg

This is just a snap shot of some of the runs, but as you can see, I managed to get my times well under that.

Screenshot_20190907_094530.jpg

The graph above shows the "total" milage covered, per month, over the last 12 months. Ramping it up for the 1/2 marathon, it's nice to see that last month was the most miles covered.

gettyimages-morningrun-1515515761.jpg

The plan for this month is to break the 10mile barrier, at a decent pace, maintaining that distance for 3 weeks, then tapering off a week before the start of the race.

I dont think this will be a problem. I've been running 7 and 8miles with ease, plus I still have the added bonus of being able to lose some of this weight. I'm back in work next week after having a week off. I've covered a grand total of ZERO miles this weeks, so it will be nice to get out again.

comments.gif
download.png

Sort:  

Hell yeah bro! Keep up the awesome work! It takes some real nerve to tackle such a big goal, I am so happy to see you challenge yourself and can't wait to see you cross that finish line after all your hard work :0)

Thanks buddy. When people see my miles and times they think "that's OK!". Then when they see me and my weight, they don't understand how my skinny legs can move my over sized body for so long at that pace. 😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣

Lmao! The mental picture I just got when reading your comment was hilarious! Like an ostrich running across the plains... hahahahaha

Seriously though, times don't even matter. The fact that you made an incredibly hard goal and you are sticking to accomplishing it is amazing my friend, not many people have that ambition in life. I am also preparing for a half marathon (next year) and you give me all kinds of motivation to keep training :0)

I've been compared to the running style of a "velociraptor"..... I have a tendency to tuck my elbows in and let my forearms flop out infront, while my head bobs!!! Or so I've been told. A very unefficient way of running.

LMAO!!! I seriously need some video of this! hahahahahahahahahaha

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 54% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98