First Month of Card Rental Income is In

in #spt5 years ago

So it's been officially a month since I started tracking my card rental income. And the result is...

305.95 USD

And it's only going up from there.

Aggy says he's making about 750 USD/mo, so I'm still lagging there. But I will be catching up as my efficiency increases.

These past 30 days I'd say I'm at maybe 50% efficiency in terms of rentals. I am still moving a lot of my cards to my holding account for security purposes, which creates cooldowns.

I am also structuring my Free2Play accounts. Right now I have set up one gold league account and one diamond league account. These players are grinding away and we are splitting the DEC values of all rewards. More on Free2Play coming soon.

In terms of yield, the sm-voter bot has my account value at 38471, but that is only based on asking prices. I'd ballpark the actual trading value at maybe 70% of that since a lot of the high dollar cards have enormous spreads. So that puts my real-world account value right around 27k USD. And then that makes my yield on assets 13.6%.

I'm shooting for 40% overall, so I have a ways to go. Optimizing and compounding are the names of the game here. With F2P coming I am going to be able to utilize pretty much my entire deck instead of just the very in-demand cards.

So that is the story for June 11 - July 11. 305 USD earned, of which I have about 50 SBD left after reinvesting.

Sort:  

I am always impressed by your work and detail. One can see where you are coming from. Since I read your success with rentals, I have put many more cards on the market and I am already at 13, tendency growing. Pretty amazing to see how your cards work for you. Keep it up, I love reading about your grind.

Wow.

I had no clue on the potential profitability of leasing cards - the market seems to have taken off in style!

That income is on a par with me sticking a Steem Post out every day of the month - and of course that isn't guaranteed.

Great stuff!

It's by far the most profitable thing I've done in crypto to date.

Fundamentally, I am speculating that SplinterLands will continue to grow. Is that a better or worse bet than speculating on the price action of STEEM? So far, I think so.

This is very interesting. I bought some decks in the beginning of steemmonsters (alpha) and only recently tried to play some rounds. It was much more fun than expected. I also read about the lending cards function, but only found direct lending to a known user. Where is the market for lending cards? Would be happy to know more about that.

It is a lot of fun! That's the key to everything.

@peakmonsters created the leasing market at peakmonsters.com. When you log in you'll be able to see the rental listings in each card's view.

Manual delegation is way too much work.

I am trying to build up another set of cards up to diamond/champ level. Still undecided if I should 1) rent them out, or 2) play them myself, or 3) get someone to play for me. Which option do you think is the best for earnings vs time spend?

I just rolled out a service for managing staked player accounts to Neal for live beta testing. I expect to have it available to everyone by the new season start.

Not sure how the earnings will compare to the first two options - might depend on how good/reliable of a player you can find - but it will reduce the time spend a lot.

Depends on what you like to do. If you want to spend the time playing, your returns will be highest even if you rent the cards to play. jacekw is basically making triple his money using rented cards.

It might even be worth renting cards to play with and then having someone else play your account. I'd have to look at the numbers on that though.

It's hard to build up a deck by renting out a lower level deck. In the first place, renting non-max level cards is difficult. In the second place, the returns on renting out your cards are very good in investment terms, but the cost of moving up levels of cards is exponential. So it will take a long time to make that math work. And in the third place, not every card is in demand for rental purposes. So that's a tough way to go.

Pretty great passive income. It will probably go up even more when the beta packs sell out

I hadn't even thought about that. I think that will depend a lot on how the team responds to the situation.

It is pretty great income, but I'm still putting time and effort in. So it's not totally passive yet.

I am also seeing some improvement in the markets as it seems that the high prices have players preferring renting them! Impressive results so far!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, we are going to continue to see prices rise and more of a shift towards rentals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94