SteemSports 2k Giveaway Submission: Beginning My Jiu-Jitsu Journey

in #ss2kgiveaway7 years ago (edited)

 

From a young age and for as long as I can remember, I've always been athletic and have loved playing sports. There are a few that I'm partial to (tennis, racquetball, volleyball) but I'm always up for heading outside to get the blood pumping and adrenaline racing. For me personally, playing and competing in sports is incredibly fulfilling for many reasons, including health, enjoyment, teamwork, cooperation, strategy, critical thinking, and more. Often times, it is as much an exercise of the brain as it is the body.

 

I'm not sure if Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is considered a sport but I began training in it a little over 3 months ago. At least at my gym, it is the hardest, yet most fulfilling workout I've ever done. Think of it as a physical match of Chess. You are always trying to play several moves ahead of your opponent. Our trainer and gym founder, Pablo Silva, is considered the best black belt in Texas and has won championships at the world level. Although I cannot compare Pablo to any other trainer as I've never trained anywhere else, I can say that he is extremely dedicated to BJJ, his students, and the incredibly intense training program that he has created. He's the one standing in the white gi in this awesome picture below:

 

pablo pic.jpg

 

I just recently submitted an opponent via choke during training for the first time. It was such a great feeling and an accomplishment that I had not achieved at all in the first two months of training. I learn something new and challenging every single time I step onto the mats. One of my best friends has been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (and now with Pablo as well) for 9 years and he has still not received a black belt yet. Jiu Jitsu, like other sports, definitely requires countless hours of practice and dedication to master the craft. Currently I train about 3 to 4 times per week and am eagerly awaiting my first tournament competition as well as my first promotion from white to blue belt. Longer term, I hope to one day become a black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. However, even at that level, you never stop learning how to improve in the martial arts. See a picture of me with my teammates below:

 


 


 
Steemsports has created and reported on some great sports content from a variety of disciplines. I like that it is not solely focused on any one sport such as football, baseball, etc. In my opinion, diversity makes for interesting reading for any Steemit account, Steemsports included.

 

Thank you for reading!

 


Source: 1, others from Facebook


 

steemit banner black_white text.jpg

@doggedfi

Proud greeter / 100 SP delegator
for the Minnow Support Project,
brought to you by rockstars such as
@aggroed, @acidyo, @ausbitbank, @canadian-coconut,
@teamsteem, @theprophet0, @Someguy123, and more.
Join our Discord chat here!

Untitled design (1).png

Sort:  

Nice story I am also tried to play sports but somebody said it is a crime. Just joking.

Hehe, you so silly.

Awesome post! Looks like you're into BJJ for all the right reasons! To challenge yourself to constantly learn and grow, and to improve physically and mentally. Go chase that Blue belt!

Thanks bud, gonna try!! Appreciate you reading it!

Congratulations on one of the best journeys you will ever take. You will be learning plenty about yourself that you didn't know. Always keep the passion and stay flexible to minimize the potential damage to joints. You'l go far @doggedfi.

Thanks bloomview! Its been great so far. Have you trained in Jiu Jitsu also?

Yes I have although I do not at this time. It's a knowledge that you don't regret having. It's also a good way to keep one's self centered or as you probably know of...on Kazushi. Good luck to you in your path. I hope it takes you good places.

Congratulations @doggedfi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good post, jui jitsu is a great sport. First post i've seen about it on steemit.

Haha. Our coach always runs a kids class right before ours. Funny to watch them training in it!

Does this mean you are going to get cauliflower ears? Congrats on the journey to improve yourself, omoplata somebody like a boss

Probably! My left one already feels slightly swollen, may go back to normal though. Long term, I'm sure its unavoidable.

And thanks man, gonna try my best! Pablo actually told me tonight that I'm improving and should be ready for my first tournament in February. Pumped!

Good on you Keep being the nail and soon enough you'll be the hammer, Landing more and more of those chokes.

Hah, thanks bud! Usually in survival mode more often than not with my gym mates. Learning a little more every training day though! Thanks for reading.

For sure dude. I wish there were more quality BJJ posts, heck combat sports in general. I'm tired of reading about the Mayweather /McGregor Freakshow over and over. Seriously keep it up and write about it. And if you're ever in Portland stop by Renzo Gracie Academy and have some rolls. Cheers!

Haha, appreciate ya! Been training maybe 3.5 months now. Gonna just keep at it 3-4 times weekly and probably do my first tournament competition in Feb 2018.

If I'm ever in Portland, I'll definitely look you up! Thanks again man.

@doggedfi

Very nice story! I would love to read how you endure your training! When will you participate in a tournament, and how do you prepare to do so? In BJJ is there weightclasses like in other fight sports? Do you need to cut weight if you want to participate in a tournament? I've got like a bazillion questions haha! Because I recently started with a martial art myself: Muay Thai.

And my goal is set: I will have a match in January 2018! But before then I need to lose 6 more kilos. And to ensure that I am prepared to my limits I will travel two months to Thailand to train with Thai elite fighters! I will post some blogs on my training, eating and other fun stuff! Hope to hear from you

Thanks friend! I typed up a comment to you earlier but can't seem to find it anymore. We are constantly training hard and the intensity kicks up a notch leading up to tournaments. There are BJJ weight classes but I do not have any experience with them or cutting weight yet. Awesome that you are getting started with Muay Thai! I've always thought that to be an interesting art.

Best of luck on your January goal! I imagine you'll learn some valuable lessons in Thailand. Look forward to reading about your progress! Cheers.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by doggedfi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hi @doggedfi! Very nice story (upvoted, of course), I am very glad to find other Jiu Jitsu people here in Steemit. You will not regret starting your BJJ journey: it is a highly frustrating but at the same time highly rewarding sport with lots of unexpected rewards; moreover, as you might have noticed already, it is highly addictive!

Looks like you found a great group, with lots of higher belts to roll with and learn from.

Greetings from Berlin!

Hey @irime, thanks for reading and upvoting! Agreed, some days are frustrating but overall it is definitely rewarding. My group is certainly high caliber and always pushing me to get better! I do enjoy rolling with the higher level belts so that I can get tips on how to improve my game.

Went ahead and followed you. :) Cheers, my fellow fighting buddy!

Same here! Following back :-) Looking forward to read updates on your BJJ journey some time. See you around...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55