More Magnet Fishing Finds

in #ssglife5 years ago (edited)

Our local river has been a treasure trove of odd bits of things made of metal. Pipes, rebar, rail spikes, even a bike. Recently we found a spot that has been offering up lots of slag and factory looking pieces of metal. The bad part of this spot is it's full of iron filings. Every time you throw in, your magnet comes back full, mostly with useless stuff that clogs up your magnet. But sometimes you hit on something different.

The latest things we found are these:

IMG_20190906_193100726~2.jpg

They definitely look like they would be part of some heavy machinery. I didn't really know what these were, so I asked a friend about it. He said that since the middle hole is not threaded, it's probably a slip on flange of some sort. Maybe part of a conveyor system.

It's amazing what you can find at the bottom of a river.

Sort:  

Just remember, if you find anything good this time, don't take it to the Police. LOL

Yeah, for real. I learned my lesson on that one. I take some consolation that hopefully it gets back to whoever it got stolen from.

Did you scrap these?

Not yet. I'm going to try to clean them up a bit and see if I can see any markings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94