AWAKE FROM THE WEARY BONE

in #stach6 years ago

images.jpg
Image

I tossed and turned but just couldn't find the right position. A lingering haze of sleep sat somewhere at the back of my mind but was too far away to reach, floating in the pool of my memories. Eyes that won't close, a heart that won't stop its beating.

The dark space is endless in this spaceless room. I wish to drift away into a never ending dream, but dreams are only a memory in this hell of reality. Disappointedly, I sat to gradually take a stroll with my thoughts. It's been consumming me for some days but I don't know how and who to ask.

I will be seen as a bunch of meaningless worry but they should not blame me for such a busy brain. The case with Chinedu is same with Kemi, Ugo ,Barbara and their strings of friends always sticking around each other like the lips. It seems to be the real deal in Lagos.

Waow! Its a 'no man's land indeed because there are no control measures for these bevy of ladies I always sight around. Its now a trend that if you're not a party to it, then you aren't the right *B.I.T.C.H yet.....Single mothers in Lagos alarmingly wants to outnumber their married counterparts making it look like marriage is a bondage.
images (1).jpg
Image

My heart bleeds for those who are not prepared for this great institution for unpreparedness is a killer of tolerance and patience. Those days when our great grand mothers and immediate grands knew what it meant to build a home, they never left at any SLIGHT provocation, they never easily gave up on our grandfathers, they never allowed a strange woman to destroy the homes they built, they persevered, they endured, they tolerated.

They had their fair share of hurts and they rolled with the punch exuding a never-say-never kind of spirit. They were prepared for the worst while hoping for nothing short of the best. Resolute was their decision, resilient was their strength, limitless was their range of tolerance, elastic was their forgiveness.

They shielded, they protected, they were the real War Lords and prayer warriors. They understood the power in reporting their husband to the Lord rather than agitating for their voice to be heard. In their softness, they turned the giant to a baby. In their feminity, they played the dumb and subtly got whatever they desired without raising a voice.

Now, all I see is women proudly raising kids without a father to meet up with the paternal needs of the child. Men are to be blamed just the same way as women. Men are to be sanctioned as well as women. Can't you see what our society is becoming??

Can't you smell dread everywhere in the air??? Even if our senses ain't working, we still have our conscience. Is yours dead??? I plead it should be resuscitated at once. We need to fight this menace, we need to say Noooo and put a stop to this before it spreads like wildfire and burn our tents.

I refuse to sit still with mouth shut and act as though all is well. Even though i'm not a man of many spoken words, I have my fists, my pen and my qwerty keys aglare to pull to pieces, all the strange acts that ensnare. Are you sleeping in this raging inferno??? I pray you wake from your slumber lest you get consumed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58