FIDAH - 3

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

Last year was our sixth year together, we had been through a whole lot together even though I suffered more. Two years ago Dexter had introduced me to his family and even though I had my opinion about them, I tried to be the best I could be so they would like me. Everything went well until I interacted with someone the family was against and that was where my problems started. I shouldn't have spoken to her they said, I shouldn't have made contact at all as it meant I was against the family and taking sides with their enemy.
I tried, like really tried to make things right, I was asked to apologize on my knees which I did, sent series of apologies but nothing was good enough, they hated me bitterly. Anything I did was wrong, his mum gave me no breathing space, I was a bad woman to her and I was trying to come between her and her beloved son. She saw no good in me and called me evil.
Now that you understand how Dexter and I started, and have an idea of what we have been through and the relationship I have with his family, let me bring you in on my reason for telling this story.
I became pregnant sometime in February last year, i have never been scared like this all my life, I was at the peak of my career, Dexter had become a changed man and was even taking the relationship more seriously than I was, he had begged me severally to get pregnant and have his child just so that we would have a reason to stick with each other but I have bluntly refused as I won't be any body's baby mama. Shocking that I am here with a baby growing in me, I picked my phone and called Dexter, he didn't believe me, he thought I was trying to prank him, because I've pranks him with pregnancy several times , I tried convincing him for about two weeks and when I saw he wasn't taking me serious, I requested for a 3 days leave and travelled to see Dexter, we both went for the test and surely it came out positive. Dexter was excited but I was bent at making this more than PhotoGrid_1528801519958.jpg a means for us sticking together and so when we got home I sat him down and told him he had to go see my parents and at least do an introduction ceremony. He agreed. He in fact always had his hands on my still very flat Tommy. He would talk to my Tommy and force me to eat fruits. It was an exciting moment for him. My three days was spent and I had to return to Uyo where I worked as a Banker.
Dexter became extra caring and would call me a million times, he sent me money to buy fruits for his baby on several occasions and was already ordering stuffs online.
Four months into my pregnancy, Dexter came to visit me in Uyo so we could talk about our introduction. He came and as usual was excited about the whole thing. Okay, first step was calling his people to update them about his plans and what was on ground. I dreaded this because I know I was and is still hated by his family.
His mum picked up and he explained to her what was going on. The first question was "which Fidah? Na u give am belle? Fidah wen dey Uyo, you, you dey lagos" she asked. My heart sank but I listened on as she countered his decision saying he had things to do and had projects on ground so he wasn't ready for any child someone was trying to force on him. She claimed she sees my pictures on Facebook and she's sure I've not been faithful to Dexter,, how hilarious that I am being judged by mere pictures. So someone cannot look beautiful again abi because I'm dating your son I should look tattered and battered. Dexter argued seriously with her but she wasn't having it and at the end, she asked that I better go and remove that bastard I was trying to force on her son.
I was shattered, tears ran down non stop, I cried till I couldn't cry no more, I had headache, I wanted to die, I wanted to be gone, I wanted to wake up from this dream.
It didn't take long before his brothers started calling. His eldest brother called first wanting to know what was going on. After Dexter explained things to him, he asked why I waited for four months before telling them and he feels like I'm trying to force Dexter into marrying me. Said a lot of stuffs I can't really remember and had same conclusion as his mother "Ask Fidah to go and abort that thing, you are not ready"
Before you ask, I am in my mid twenties and Dexter is in his early thirties. So we are not kids.
His other brother called and still blabed his rubbish and even when Dexter was trying to tell them this wasn't my first pregnancy for him and he couldn't stand me doing an abortion again, their question was "How many she don first do before?" "ehn since she don dey do am, make she kukuma do this one too"....
At this point, I didn't need to hear anymore, I stood up and walked and kept walking, that is how I clear my mind. Dexter followed, we walked in silence each thinking deeply, I cried as I walked, I swore to heaven, I begged God, I made wishes, how do I terminate a four months old pregnancy? I'm finished....
Dexter left for lagos the next day and two days later, I got a credit alert of thirty thousand naira accompanied with a text message from Dexter asking me to go for a pregnancy termination that he had thought things through and he now sees where his family is coming from. He is a young guy and is not ready to start a family.
Haba, that cannot be true, my Dexter cannot send me such. I called him and he repeated same thing to me calmly. I Iost it right there, I begged him initially. When that wasn't working, I started insulting him, laying curses on him and that was it, he blocked me. He blocked me on all social media and every way I could reach him... For days I thought of what to do, I became a shadow of myself. My baby was growing, should I raise this child on my own? I earn well, I could afford it, but was I ready to raise a child without a father? What would I tell my family? I missed Kate, she would have been of great help, she now works in Abuja and we talk once in a while.
It was weekend and I had to decide what to do before Monday, so I browsed the internet on how to terminate a 4 months old pregnancy, saw different stuffs and decided to go for a drug I saw there. The first pharmacy I entered had it. I bought it, went home and used it. I can't begin to explain the hell of pains I went through because no adjective would be enough to really describe such unimaginable pain. I couldn't go to work on Monday and had to call in sick because I was bleeding heavily and was in so much pain. This continued for 11 days and Dexter still blocked me. There was no one to talk to. I had to call Kate.
After narrating everything to Kate she insulted the living day light out of me and first thing the next day, Kate was at my doorstep , she flew in from Abuja. I've never been glad to see anyone in my entire life. We hugged and cried in each other's arm as usual and then she started her scolding and gave orders " Dress up, we are going to the hospital"..........
To be continued...

Sort:  

Congratulations @kartie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10