FIDAH-final part

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

January this year, Dexter made a huge proposal.. My gosh!... I never expected it.. Lol.
It was a Saturday morning and since the incident of myself and Dexter's ordeal in the compound, I've grown quite close to one of my neighbors. We go jogging early every Saturday mornings. This Saturday, my neighbor looked not like his usual self, his track suit was on point, sneakers were new and squeaky clean.
"Franko" I greeted him, "you look good, you got new sporting outfits without letting me know so I could get mine" i quarrelled jokingly "It's my birthday today, just felt I should do something for myself. You will take me pictures with your phone on our way" he replied
Something was off, Frank had celebrated his birthday earlier, and I remembered wishing him a happy birthday. Well, which one is my own, let him pamper himself all he wants and have multiple birthdays in a year, na him Sabi. But then, I remembered there was this track suit and sneakers Dexter gifted me with the last time that I've been saving for only heaven knows when. I guess it was time to use it. "Frank I dey come, two can play this game. It's my birthday today too" I hurried into my apartment, and wore my new track suit. It looked very good on me. I held my hair in a band and like yo! I was good to go.
When I came out, Frank was doing what the yourba's call Yimu. I ignored him and asked how I looked, of course I know I looked stunning just wanted to tease him.
We started jogging, following our usual route.after a while, There was a little crowd in front, I wondered what was going on, my intention was to jog past them. As we approached, I noticed I was alone, Frank had mysteriously disappeared, I looked around slowing down, we were together seconds ago na, strangers were smiling at me, wtf is going on here. Then I saw Kate, what!!!
Kate in Uyo and I was finding out like this? She was wearing a track suit too. Hair pulled up like mine. Then I saw my colleagues at work, all in tracksuit, I took a step backwards. There must have been a zombie invasion . They were all looking up at something, it was a digital billboard, it was showing pictures of me, me and Dexter, I think at this point I already knew what was coming. Motorists were already parking, people were making videos with their phones. I looked at Kate, she was all smiles. How on earth did Dexter convince this girl to be here? Two parallel line must surely meet at some crooked point. She pointed at the billboard, I returned my attention to it, there was a huge question waiting to be answered, of course you already know what it is, it is something I've always dreamt of, my moment was now, but I was sweating, without makeup and this is going to be my proposal? A tracksuit proposal? Chai!!
Dexter emerged from the crowd, his track suit was exactly like mine, his sneakers too. My knight in shining Armour. He walked confidently and knelt with a knee, he had a lot to say, it brought tears to my eyes. I'd always told Kate I didn't understand why people cry when they were being proposed to. I now understood it... We have been through a hell of a relationship, I never foresaw this moment happening soon. "Fidah Albert, will you be my bride and my friend? , I promise to always make you happy" he popped the question.. People were cheering.. I bend down and kissed his lips, it was cold but really soft. He kissed me back as I muttered a Yes!!
He lifted me in the air. People clapped. The crowd was hug, my colleagues came and congratulated us, we took pictures. Kate hugged Dexter and I. This was my miracle....... It was indeed a tracksuit proposal, the pictures looked great and the future looked greater.
Here I am planning a wedding that's to hold in three months, Kate is my Chief brides maid. I can't help but have certain fears.
I've read majorly on Instagram about domestic violence. They say if a guy hits you once, he won't stop hitting you, if he once cheated on you, he won't stop cheating on you.
I'm genuinely scared, I want to trust Dexter to have changed but I can't help but have these fears...
Am I making a mistake?
Should I trust Dexter?
Will he keep hitting me?
Am I in the right place?
With the right person?
Stuffs are running through my mind.
Instagram is not helping matters
Joroolumofin has created fear in me.
What should I do?

Please drop your thoughts and advice with Kate, Ken, Toyosi or Gertrude.
God bless you immensely for reading my story, I pray that y'all won't have to go through what I've gone through in life.. Bless you all.

 FIDAH, THE FEEDING BOTTLE  

(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67