Dad Passed Me A Message Through His Love.

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

Emptying bottles was to Dad what swimming is to fish. He could not function properly with a clean system but he was a damn genius when he got it in the right amount of it.
It was not a surprise to anyone even himself when he died of cirrhosis. Like he used to say "something will kill a man".

"He is dead", Ruth my sister said with best clarity she could managed. Hearing that he is gone gave me a mixed feelings. His treatment was consuming every income everyone was able to come up with...that brought relief. Loosing a father and me becoming the 'head of the house' brought a feeling of great loss and sudden heavy burden.


Image

Getting home, i rushed to mum's room console her and my sister. After most of the sympathisers have dispersed the second day. I went to his room to see if there is no anything there is anything of note.
Expectedly there were many bottles to clear, but an empty but sealed bottle with a small paper in it stood out. I took out the paper and it reads "I AM PROUD OF YOU, SON. YOU ARE ALL I WANTED TO BE".

As written for stach short story contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.37
ETH 3805.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42