MY FIRST VALENTINE: STACH SHORT STORY CONTEST

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

Back in the day, I was the skinny, bald girl who wore oversized clothes. Valentine was always a day that I wanted to be invisible. I was that weird church girl that no one liked.

That year, I expected the status quo: be a shadow and pretend your crush is not dating someone already. It worked until I could no longer take it. Courageously, I decided to confront X and say a few things that I regret till date. He was too shocked to speak when I finished and he scrammed.

It felt like hours before I could move from the spot he had nailed me to. I shuffled to my room shamefaced as I imagined X sitting with friends and discussing the weirdo that wanted to dine with the kings. Every sound of laughter drew tears from my eyes. I truly wanted the earth to swallow me.

When I got to my bed, I noticed a stray envelope on my grey duvet. My hands shook as I picked it. I swallowed loudly before I opened the valentine card inside. It read:

"Who needs boys anyway? We will always have each other. Cynthia."

She was the best friend ever.

IMG_20180217_125941.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71