STACH Short Story Contest #27: IF YOU MUST LIE, BE BRIEF.

in #stach6 years ago

download.jpg

Hurriedly, I ran to my pastor to inform him that my mother was ill, and needed my urgent attention. Confused, he asked me to leave the church service, even though I was the lead vocalist for the day.

I had been invited to sing in a gospel concert and I was to be paid alot of cash which I couldn't turn down. I boarded the next bus headed for the location of the concert, and to my dismay the concert had already begun before my arrival. I hurried to the back stage to meet the organizers, and I was due to perform next. I said a few words of prayer and mounted the stage.

As I lifted my left arm to raise the first song, I heard my name "Chris!!" The voice was familiar, and as I turned towards the direction of the voice, there stood my pastor cheering me, and unconsciously, my left arm fell and I was filled with guilt.

After the concert, I went to him to apologize, but he just looked at me and smiled and the words he said next changed me forever: "If you must lie, be brief." he said.

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

I started following already

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84