Happy African Child

in #stachpoetry6 years ago (edited)

child-1797637__480.jpg

I was a child
So were the others
Our world was small
Revolving around the village square
The sun was ours
Sent to brighten our day
The moon, a distant friend
That gladdened our nights

I loved mama's meals
The Sunday-Sunday rice
And sundry daily sweet
But did not wish to grow
Afraid to be an adult
Bathing everything in sight
And enjoyed a pleasure bath
So happy to dance nude
To the pitipata melody
Of the weeping skies

We lived for here and now
Not bothered about tomorrow
Enjoyed the fruits in season
And danced the steps in vogue
Glad to be part of the craze

I loved my happy world
And did not wish for another
The world of older folk
So very bleak and scary
They often looked so sombre
Too serious for a smile

Image source

Thanks for reading my poem

Sort:  

Creative @cyntibellar!

Keep up the good work mate!

Thanks dear
I appreciate a lot

It's so beautiful. I also have fond memories of my childhood

Thanks dear.
Am glad you like my poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65