Captain Clueless about Star Wars Galaxies

in #starwarsgalaxies6 years ago

Captain Clueless about Star Wars Galaxies

StarWarsGalaxies_02.jpg

DevLog 1

A moment of insanity?

So, I had a mad idea the other day. How about recreating Star Wars Galaxies from scratch? Code, models, sounds and all!

Yes, I said it was mad. Quite possibly certifiable!

Now, this is purely for my own interest at this moment in time, but what I would like to do at some point, is open this up to all that are interested, as a means for people to learn all that is involved in the creation of this type of game. Basically, for educational purposes. Obviously, no money can be earned from this, not only due to not having the license for Star Wars, but also that this is to be created for educational purposes. Of course, money is not the point at all. The point of this is to learn and be involved in recreating something that was awesome and bringing it into the modern era.

There are, of course, SWG projects out there, that people can already get involved in, that bring the game to life again, but these use the original client and its assets. That is an excellent thing, of course, but I want to create everything from scratch, even the models, images and sounds. This project is to use absolutely nothing from the original game. The purpose is to learn it all!

At this point in time, I am facing a blank wall. That blank wall is me not having a plan what-so-ever, but hopefully, by the next devlog, I will have something more concrete to say re the start of the development.

I myself, have only one real weakness on the development side, and that is drawing. I can do everything else, but fail miserably at drawing in 2D. Actually, I should add music to that, even though I can get by, therefore, not really a weakness.

So many questions to ask and answer for this. Where do I start? Do I draw up a basic plan of action or a detailed one, or none (wing it)? What tools will I need? Do I create a game engine from scratch or use a ready made one? Which language should be used? Should I, alone, get this going from the start or get a few more people? Backups? Versioning? Hosting? … and the list goes on!

I have no idea! Truly, a Captain Clueless!

That unknown, is the fun part. The excitement of searching out answers and coming up with a meaningful plan of action.

Well, that's it from me for now. A moment of insanity recorded. Now, will it progress any further? A safe bet will be no, but we shall see!

Till the next time, all. Hopefully, in DevLog 2 :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57