Statewars - Florida - Key Lime Pie

Hopefully Florida Man didn't scare you off. And if he did, Florida's food will bring you right back!

Florida is blessed to have several famous foods, including:

World-class citrus


Source

Seafood, including shrimp, stonecrab, conch, oysters, you name it!


Source

Mouthwatering Spanish food, especially Cuban


Source

And my personal favorite is...

Key Lime Pie!

Source

Floridians are so proud of Key Lime Pie that we made it our State Pie in 2006.


Source

Key Lime Pie is originally from Key West. It's main ingredient, key lime, gives away the fact that it's a Floridian dish. Florida produces the majority of the citrus grown in the US and is a major part of our economy.

I'll let you in on a little secret, we keep the best key limes for ourselves in Florida and make key lime pie with them!

To this day, the best Key Lime Pie is found in Key West. And going down is worth a trip. It's a stunning drive. Here are some pictures that I took during my last visit. They are just some quick pics from the car (don't worry I wasn't driving when I took them.)

20170324_135033.jpg

20170324_135042.jpg

The most famous place is called the Key West Key Lime Pie Company.

I had a chance to try their pie when I went down there a few years ago. They had a big sign up that said "Featured on Throwdown with Bobby Flay." I asked them about it and was sure that they beat Bobby. To my surprise, they lost! They were clearly still bitter about it because they told me, in a very serious tone, "he cheated and put coconut in his."

Really, Bobby?

Sort:  

dont hate me, but I have never had a taste for Key Lime Pie but then I havent visited Key West maybe that is why

I read your comment really fast and didn't see the "a taste for" part. It was just "don't hate me, but I have never had Key Lime Pie."

I thought, well, he should just try it and he will love it. Can't hate him for that.

Then I realized my mistake hahaha

Yes, the limes can make the taste be too strong. You'll just have to make a trip down ;)

I guess part is the desert pie I love is apple pie and nothing is quite the same but I will try it again soon

I knew Key Lime Pie would make an appearance sooner or later..lol! Great stuff and now I want some!! :)

haha glad you enjoyed it! Me too :(

Good stuff :) is Florida Man a good cook, hehe

I will stick with the citrus!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99