Steem Cartoon : Sunset Concept Art

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

header .jpg

In order to complete this concept art for a series of animation, I have to create a mood that is suitable to the storyboard. The story is based on the life in Hawaii. I have to first take scene from an established shot from the storyboard which I produce here.

step 1.jpg

From the storyboard I will arrange the composition and tidy up the line art so that it will make my work easier when it comes to the painting process. What you can see here are the steps that I take in the process of inking the line art.

step 2.jpg

The entire process I create is by using photoshop CS. For a start I will use graident tools by choosing orange and blue colour to be made into the colour for the sky for a sunset mood.

step 3.jpg

Then I will use colour dodge on the brush to form the sun's ray which will also assist me in identifying the source of the light thereafter. I will use the sponge brush to from the thin and scattered clouds.

step 4.jpg

I will then use a dramatic effect by forming another thick cloud in the front to slightly shield the sun's ray and to get a warm temperature on the cloud that is hidden by the sunlight. I will use colour doge on the spray soft brush.

step 5.jpg

After I am complete with the clouds I can now use the blue colour that is slightly darker for the sea and I will place light orange highlight and soft light blue on the area that has the waves. This is to make the sea look wavy.

step 6.jpg

For the final process I will focus on the colour of the building. I will start the process by using flat colour and use multiply layer as shadow. This final step I will use grain effect on certain parts.

step 7.jpg

I usually like to set the mood and temperature right each time I start my work. They key to a good background or backdrop is clear line art and basic colours. Once the mood is set, it is always easier to work on the basic stuff.



credit to @zomagic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69384.14
ETH 3682.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.31