WACOM STYLUS PRACTICE MODE: TO DRAW HIGH CONTRAST IN ART

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

Hi to all Steemians,

I thought I wanted to draw something like a building or maybe a house, but then I realise there's a lot to learn before I proceed onto those style of drawing (in photoshop). So, I'll probably do it on my next post..

After decided what to draw, today I produce 1 more drawing using Wacom stylus, a.k.a my new edgy 2B,3B pencils. The urge to post something, well..here is my second post on how I use Wacom for the second time.

08.jpg

Personally I always attracted to art that has contrast in colour. Doesn't matter wether it's black and white or multi colours eg. drawings, furniture, garments, shoes, buildings etc. Contrast is one of principle in art and when applying to certain arrangements, which may bring certain elements next to it more define.

our eyes tend to be drawn to the area of a painting with the greatest contrast – where light tones meet dark tones
https://www.annamasonart.com/how-to-achieve-impact-use-high-contrast/

Here's how I use the contrast principal in my drawing,

Step 1

Sketch outlining only to get the basic proportion or your overall drawing form.

01.jpg

Step 2
Identify some area for light and shadow, to be sketch later. I would draw lightly only.
Also at this stage I practice certain style of brushes that matches my ordinary pencil.

02.jpg

Step 3
Start detail up your drawing.

04.jpg

Step 4

This is the interesting part of the process making your drawing contrast or not contrast.
It's between really dark rendering or really light highlights. Since the reference Marilyn Monroe's photo that i use is already in black and white, it's easy to follow the tone colour.

05.jpg

Step 5

06.jpg

Step6

07.jpg

Step 7
08.jpg

Step8
09.jpg

Step9
Here I draw in some foreground and background to complete the look of the whole drawing.
Just follow your guts to compose something interesting, use bright or darker tone as well as part of your creativity .

10.jpg

Until my next posts..
My gif process for you

process.gif

Sort:  

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

i like it =D

Thank you so much..

nice drawing.. :)

Thank you, really appreciate your comment @cartoonistpandan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75