Angemon - The Crest of Hope

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

Whoah, it's a new day of the year already.......

Anyways, got a mood to draw, but my feeling is a bit solemn when I did this art. Still, glad I finished it.

Here is the art.

08.jpg

Might as well show how I did it.

First up, a stick drawing.....YUP!
01.jpg

Really sorry or the potato quality image. Anyways, I will sometimes always do a stick like this for a full figure drawing. When I try to do some poses, I'll usually draw the stick first. This is one lesson I've learned from a guy who is at the same batch with me during my university years who is also a former graduate from The One Academy. His future is bright so far.

Next up is to apply them shapes.
02.jpg

Yeah, applying them muscles and stuff. Like sculpting on that clay on your canvas....... wait what?
Those muscles though are always a trait of mine. Been drawing them since I was a teenager. Those muscles are influenced by......TEKKEN....

Anyways, now for the proper pencilling!
03.jpg

Yup.... the wings are some extra stuff. But hey, it's Angemon, so he must have those wings...

Inking.
04.jpg

Those wing and accessories are quite something. And Angemon is still on his Champion form!

Anyways, base coloring.
05.jpg

For a design which has a lot going through it, it's surprising that his color pallette was pretty simple. Then again that simplicity is what makes this design unique I guess.

Extra details, like shadows and stuff.
06.png

Yeah, very little. I planned on doing it anyways because of the background, which is done with VECTOR GRAPHICS!
Merkabah.jpg

.....references? Well, to be honest, I got no sketches for the background process. The only references I got is my own art. (yup, MY OWN ART!)
shelter_x_vector_by_gordonjugah-db4qcsi.jpg

And no, I did not used the assets from this reference. I have to makes them skies from the ground up.

Last but not least, the Crest of Hope, which is synonymous with Angemons Digivolution line.
CrestofHope.png

This one is also build from scratch.

Finally, some color adjustment and composition.
08.jpg

This might sound cheesy, but I drew this art because my New Year resolution is simply.... Hope. After all of the events of 2017, either good or bad, it's good to hope for the better. And hopefully 2018 is but a small step of hope to move forward....

Anyways, Digimon is one of my favourite anime series when I was a kid. Even though it was equally popular as Pokemon at the time, I still liked Digimon a bit better due to it's more mature story. Still, one can't deny that this show is actually to promote the Tamagotchi brand of Digimon back in the day XD! I followed the series up until Digimon Tamers, though I skipped Digimon Frontier. I do however managed to finish up Digimon Savers (Digimon Data Squad in the West). Digimon Adventure tri is looking good. Liked how they give a more mature setting for those movies, the are some gripes here and there, though I'm looking forward to the final film from it.

Anyways, Happy Belated New Year. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Very inspirational. I hope your New Year is as great as this drawing.

Check out my NBA and NHL Pick Em Contests!
Nba Pickem: https://tinyurl.com/yaz2cdnp
Nhl Pickem: https://tinyurl.com/y7aj5par

Thanks! I do hope so! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gordon92 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Ah I remember watching Digimon as a child haha and Happy New Year!

Ahaha. :) I still enjoyed the show after rewatching them all, especially the first Digimon Adventure. The games though... it's another story.

Nice sharing...I'll show this to my daughter later. Thank you.

Thanks! Nice to know a fellow Bornean too! :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Nice drawing! Even though i never fancy any characters in Pokemon or Digimon.

Thanks! :D Don't worry about it. To each on their own liking. :)

Congratulations @gordon92! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

All the digimon OP are the best !!! TwT

XD! Still, Butterfly undoubtedly for me has a more nostalgic feeling. Plus the singer's (RIP Wada Kouji) favourite Digimon is Angemon.

I freaking love it, angemon and angewomon are my favourite digimons ever

Thanks! :) Glad you liked it! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71249.51
ETH 3815.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41