Introducing SteemIt Event @ Muzium Negara

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

Today at the National Musuem (Muzium Negara), SteemIt was introduced to the Malaysian comic community in this event. The opening ceremony was in the morning, which I couldn't really make it because I was busy setting up for Art Invasion tomorrow. So I went at 2 p.m. instead 8D.


IMG_20180123_134225

We meet again, giant 10 foot tall BoBoiBoy

Managed to Make It!

After getting the miracle that is a parking spot, went over the usual route to the exhibition. Now, in this moment, I realized two things:

  • That there's a pretty decent crowd here so that's pretty
  • I have no idea where the event was gonna be (halp meh)

Luckily, the peeps in the MMU steemit Whatsapp chat provided a very helpful visual guide to help this lost potato find her way to the auditorium. If not I would be eternally lost within the halls of the museum and probably become part of exhibit.

IMG_20180123_134544

Rupa-rupa awal jugak siot...(Translation: Well, shit, I'm early)

Okay, actually I came in early (1:45 pm ish?) and got in the middle of a bit of rehearsal. I just moved my butt to a comfy seat and sat there. Checked my phone for a bit and all.

IMG_20180123_141932

As time passed, took a little time to myself and did a little doodle. My poor red pencil couldn't be sharpened so I just doodled straight to pen. Looked up and the crowd started to come in. A lot of these faces I've never seen so it's pretty cool to see the people pouring in.

Everyone, Meet SteemIt!

IMG_20180123_143503

So @abgmie opened up the event quite well. Managed to get a shot of him from here because I got to move to the very front seat. He talked about his experience and gaining some laughs from the very responsive audience.

IMG_20180123_144525
IMG_20180123_145407

What a better way to show how SteemIt works than doing a live demo. @sireh showed off his skills in doing a really amazing caricature of Ustaz Dinnie (best sport of a model there) while the band played. He managed to finish the drawing before our eyes as the song played and by the time the music ended, he had finished his caricature and it looked awesome.

And next? Put it up on SteemIt! The audience was amazed and how quick income came in. This really peaked their curiosity about the platform.

The Men of the Hour

IMG_20180123_150758

@bitrocker2020

Talked about the community portion of SteemIt. Showing what #teammalaysia had been doing so far, especially in his work in charity. A lot of really impressive data presented, especially on the growth of authors and the growth the communities.

IMG_20180123_155509

@perennial

Explained more on the legalities of SteemIt and cryptocurrencies. It was pretty cool to hear some of his previously worked cases and on cases involving cryptocurrencies. He pretty much relieved some doubts and suspicious some audience members had.

IMG_20180123_144300

@sireh

A pleasant surprise, he actually showed his research for his Masters as part of the presentation. It was extremely well put together and felt like an engaged version of a thesis paper. It definitely drove up interest among everyone in the crowd since he talked on the what factors create appeal among audiences towards comics, particularly the digital side of comics.

Hopefully with the awesome job done by all the people involved, we'll see an increase of new authors and amazing content in the #teammalaysia, #steem-cartoon, and the new #steem-music communities.

Last Tid Bits

IMG_20180123_144241

Student life doesn't really stop even when at events. During the introduction talks, I was actually studying a little on Media Law. This was a little doodle comic I drew on the topic of horizontal Judicial Precedent. Have a mid-term on the subject next month and my grades depend on it!

IMG_20180123_170525

And I managed to grab a picture with @abgmie. Thanks, @elliebong, for helping me take the picture! 8D

Well, that's all for now! I gotta prep for tomorrow event, which I will cover about tomorrow. Hopefully I'll remember to bring my DSLR by then. Until then...

See you next post!

Sort:  

looks fun, sadly, I can't go cuz I had crits ^^

Aw, man, it's for the best, @akmalbastamam. Nanti ilmu tak berkat
Next event lah

So glad you were able to attend the event! Certainly hope you get some good stuff out of it.

Wished I could've come a little earlier though, @awesomianist, but was glad the talk was so informative either way

Awh it was blurry a bit sorrehh 🙏

Haha it's okay. My phone's camera is actually pretty bad in indoor lighting. Just happy to get the photo op

hey @hanbun .. was great seeing you all there.

Eeeyy, Mr. @bitrocker2020. Same to you and great talk as usual!

Great event! Was there as well..! Not sure how you can't find the way to the hall despite the posters to show the direction everywhere tho haha. Keep steeming...!! Following you. Looking forward to more doodles

Oooh, awesome! Next time we should try meeting up then. Haha...well, I have quite a poor sense of direction. Kind of have a bad tendency to completely ignore the very clear signs of direction

so sad lah I missed another event! you guys had so much fun! :)

Aww, man. Yeah, we had quite some fun (and pictures too). Next event you come play for it lah. Gurantee meet up there haha

Great post and photos! Also, thanks for lending your time for our assignment interview too :)

Thanks, @ariffashraff! Best of luck on your video assignment. Buat Steemit post on it and earn extra cash on the side ;D

Hehe, the little comic you made can never be more true.

Haha yup. Times change, people change, but law stays the same

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67621.06
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50