Do You Wanna Build a Snowman? Step-by-step on How I Draw Chibi Elsa! [Time-Lapse]

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

day22.jpg

It's summer almost all year long here in Malaysia. So do you think having Elsa as a company all the time is a good idea? I'm imagining portable ais kacang maker everywhere you go! xD Here are some steps on how I draw Elsa and all my cartoons! (Time-lapse video at the end of the post)

I am using Infinite Painter on Android - on a Lenova Yoga Book.

Step 1: Sketch

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.41.23 PM.png
I usually use blue ink for the sketch layer to differentiate with the inking layer later on. This is where I get all the composition, emotion, and every other things right before proceeding to the next step.

Step 2: Outline Inking

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.41.37 PM.png
By creating a new layer, I start tracing the sketch layer (which opacity has been tuned down to make it less visible).

Step 3: Base color

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.41.49 PM.png

Another layer is then added on top of the previous two and is set to Multiply. This is to make sure that the color paint does not overlap the black outline. I use a thick brush paint to easily cover all the area that needs coloring.

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.41.53 PM.png
For different color, I usually do on different layers.

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.41.56 PM.png
Using an eraser to remove any excessive colors.

Step 4: Add More Details

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.42.20 PM.png
I love doing details on my characters, typically on their costumes and accessories. Time for the princess to put on some make-up!

Step 5: Shading

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.42.24 PM.png
For shading, I usually pick a darker color of the base color (in this case, dark brown) and apply using the airbrush tool for a soft and smooth effect.

Step 6: Highlights

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.43.27 PM.png
Lastly, I use a soft airbrush eraser for highlights to make Elsa's dress looks more dreamy.

Step 7: Extra Details

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 4.43.36 PM.png
I added some glitters to Elsa's magical dress to show them who's the real ice queen ;)

And that's it. A very simple tutorial on how my cartoons are made. I know some process might be taking longer that it should because on average, it takes me up to 45 minutes to finish a character. Maybe in time I will pick up some skills or new software to improve my productivity :)

Here is the full video of the process:

Let me know what you think! Tips and tricks are most welcome!

Sort:  

cute drawing you got there! thanks for sharing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59