Steem Cartoon Challenge : Wo-ol chan

Hi guys, this is my entry for @perennial's art contest ! In the contest, the theme given is "Fantasy". Check out the link below for more information. https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@perennial/steem-cartoon-introducing-wo-owl-announcing-our-1-challenge
steenchan.jpg

So, this is Wo-ol chan. From the name given, she looks like none other than a normal Japanese high school girl. I would like to think that she is a girl who has the ability to travel within the electronics such as phones, computers, whichever gadgets granting internet access. I got this idea from an avatar named "Kizuna Ai" . She is an avatar that owns a youtube channel AIChannel. To put it short, I always like girls in sailor uniform. Thus, I made Wo-ol Chan the way. :)

Now, I will talk about my process and thoughts in brief .
I first started out with multiples sketches. Always do a few pose sketches and them compare them in the end. Select and finalize the one you choose. I decided on this sketch because the pose itself is dynamic and I intended to have her holding or manifesting some magical stuff on her hand.

1.jpg

Next, I started off with some basic colours. I used plain dark skin colour as base. "Base colour shown in image below". Then, always remember that our skin will absorb and reflect light around us. Thus, by adding some bluish hue on the skin will make the skin look more real in shadow. Always remember to paint in naunce. This can be done with a soft default photoshop brush (adjusting and lower its opacity to around 30%) and paint it gently.

2.jpgbase color skin.PNG

As you notice that I already indicate a light source from the left. Since the base color if of darker value, a bright light source will make your character look more lively. You can do this by changing your brush setting to "Colour Dodge" mode and select a darker yellowish colour.

Then, I continue to refine her cloths. Its all about try and error, getting the right light and shadow. Painting the folds on her shirt. Most of the light source here are done by a default soft brush with Color Dodge mode. I also paint with "Multiply' mode when it comes to tackling the shadow and occlusion. Sometimes, I set my brush to "Overlay" mode to add some hue to the painting. At this point, I added some significant symbol of Wo-ol on her shirt and headpiece. I also create a Wo-ol magical stuff on her hand that she manifests. I like to put my thoughts into creating a fantasy character - Wo-ol Chan. So, I tried to incooperate the symbols into her clothings and accessories. 3.jpg

Now, we have come to the final part. The background. For the background, I tested out with different base colours and then finalize on a light blue. The white light source is done with a brush on Color Dodge setting too ! xD
Once you are done with your background, merge your character and the background together. Use a brush by changing the setting to "Softlight" to paint the edges of her arms, cloths and hair to show that the diffusion of light from behind. 4.PNG

I hope you like this piece and any questions please feel free to comment below. I will try to answer them ^^ . Thank you for reading !

Sort:  

From what I can see, this is kind like a speed painting huh? Anyways, good job on this one! :)

haha. It took me two days and roughly 5 hours . I wish I could draw faster in future hahaha. Thank you @gordon92 !!

Oh yeah! Since it's the first time you used the #steem-cartoon tag, welcome to Steem-cartoon! :D

Thank you ! Its so great to meet friends from Malaysia here too :D ! I am new to this, still learning how this works xD

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jowyanderson to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Nice one. good job. I wish you good luck!

thank you very much ! ^^

This is so nice, I hope you can create a gif for your process. Save every 10 minutes of progress. From that gif, we can see and learn more from you. Btw, good luck.

Thank you !! I will try to do that in future and be more in-depth with my process ! ^^

nice art!!..great coloring technic!!

Thank you very much !! I am glad you like it ! =D

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Congratulations @jowyanderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

WHAT ON EARTH! I thought this was 3D! Good job! (ノ゚0゚)ノ~

alright, 3rd comment of mine on your art :P
the basic blockouts and rough and unfinished look really reminds me of what WLOP is doing :D
I hope you know that artist but I'm sure you do ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68216.84
ETH 3827.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63