Doodling Ducks (Process) From Doodledayeo #14

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

This is such a late post. I just realized that I haven't posted my last entry for @opheliafu's previous Doodle Challenge Round 14 from like 2 weeks ago. I submitted the entry in the comment section and totally forgot all about it. And there's still a few more pending posts that i haven't got enough time to finish yet.

Btw, Doodle Doodledayeo Challenge - Round 16 is already up and running! Go check it out and join it! (I missed Round 15 T_T) I hope I can make it in time for this round.




COVER.JPG
Doodling ducks with umbrellas on a rainy day for @opheliafu's Weekly Challenge Round 14.


The Entry Piece:

DOODLE DUCK copy.jpg


The Process:

I had to remind myself over and over to not to overdo this and draw it simple like a doodle should. I used a blank paper texture as the background.

1.jpg

I didn't like the ducks that came out from my first sketch so redrew them in a much simpler form. Put them nice and tight in a grouped composition.

2.jpg

I skipped a few of my usual steps with just a quick detailing straight on my rough sketch.

3.jpg

To give them the illusion of three-dimensional form, (apart from the rough hatching I did there) I added another layer of shades using a smudgy brush for a light rendering of value and tone.

4.jpg

Added another layer of watercolor wash effect.

5.jpg

A finishing touch with white highlights.

6.jpg

Applied a paper texture on the whole piece for a traditional look. A little tweak on the brightness and contrast and it's done!

7.jpg

I'm quiet happy with the result. Didn't spend too much time on it. It was really brief. I think I got it done in less than an hour.


Made a GIF using Werble app:

IMG_4120.GIF


Thank you for dropping by!

- oRen! -

WO-OWL BANNER copy.png

Sort:  

Nice job brother! I dont know much about art but i know you one very talented brother i have. Proud of you!

Aww.. Thank you, sis! xD

This is such a lovely image, you managed to capture that "chilled out rainy day" feeling without adding to much detail. Good job!

Thank you @azbeen! I’m glad you noticed that. :)

Effect last tu best!

Haha! Tu part yang paling susah dalam post ni. 😅 Thanks, bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73