Steem Cartoon : Chinese New Year Greetings 2018

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

The New Year is Coming


00COVERScaniaJob.jpg

I was commissioned to get this piece of work done for a bus company in conjunction with the Chinese New Year 2018 that will be sometimes in mid-February 2018. I could not be more excited about completing this piece!

As you can see, the image below is the sketch from the client. From their sketch, I knew exactly what they want.

01ScaniaJob.jpg

Malaysia consists of people of different races. The main race is Malay, Chinese and Indian and I try to capture the diversity of all the 3 races in my art. At the same time, since the theme is Chinese New Year 2018, I will try to incorporate a few things which are specific to the Chinese Community.

02ScaniaJob.jpg

This is my 1st sketch, I arranged the composition in a way where we can feel the festive eve and the characters are celebrating and have fun meeting family and friends.

In my artwork, you will see the reunion dinner which is a must for all Chinese family where family members from near and far will gather and meet at least once a year. There is the lion dance which is believed to be able to usher in prosperity for the year and the lantern which is hanging at the top.

03ScaniaJob.jpg

This is the same from my 1st sketch. The only difference is the angle of the bus. I wanted to show to the client the variety of arrangements they can come out using the layout that I designed.

You will also notice that the company that commissions me to do this piece, a company by the name of Scania is also prominently featured in my work. This is a bus company, and during this time, the company would be doing a brisk sale by fetching people from all walks of life back to their hometown.

04ScaniaJob.jpg

My final composition. I flipped the visuals and they like it better.

I try to make this artwork a little special. It will not only be a normal piece, I want to capture it differently. I incorporated a fisheye lens, one that is sometimes used in photography or the film industry. In that manner, I capture more than just a flat spread, it tends to have a little more angle.

GIFScaniaJob.gif

The entire drawing process in a GIF form.

ScaniaJob01.jpg

ScaniaJob02.jpg

ScaniaJob03.jpg

ScaniaJob04.jpg

ScaniaJob05.jpg

Our Culture and Values


I believe that our art carries our culture and values. If our art merely portrays an empty picture, it would be very sad because we are a nation with a rich culture. Whatever race we are I think our culture and values dictate the following:

  1. Our families come first
  2. Our roots are important
  3. Traditional values are what makes us distinct and unique
  4. However diverse we are in terms of race, we are still able to live peacefully as a dynamic community.

I am proud to be a Malaysian and for as far as I continue to draw, I am proud to showcase my nation to the world.

To my Chinese friends in #steem-cartoon and #teammalaysia I can't name you guys but if I miss out any, it is not intentional. Happy Chinese New Year to @perennial, @bitrocker2020, @kevinwong, @coloringiship, @maverickfoo, @deborism, @elizacheng, @elliebong, @macam.yes, @notimetospace @calebleejl @danielwong @aaronleang @sam.hsuu and many others. You guys are awesomee!. Have a good year ahead. Huat arr!!!!

steemcartoonOren.png

Sort:  

Wow , hebat. Semangat for CNY2018!!

Hahaha... muhibbah!

Happy Chinese New Year to everyone who celebrates it on #teammalaysia !. Another beautiful drawing from Sireh :D. I am happy to hear that Malaysia has a rich culture. All the things you said about Malaysia's culture are things that I treasure. Unfortunately they are disappearing here in America.

Thank You Mr. @thunderbirdcomic ... yup! we are so diverse and it's exciting to have the chance to learn from each other.

Best...cina raya kita pon cuti...

I've always admire your work. Keep it up bro.

haha... thank you! unfortunately sekarang tak boleh focus mcm dulu... too many commitment.

sangat detail..terbaik bro

Ahhh ... master Aurah lagi detail... haha... thanks bro!

Love the drawing! The fish eye effect is super cool! Thanks for the shoutout! ❤️💖💗💕!
Gong Xi Fa Cai to you too! Wish you and family abundance in health, wealth and prosperity!

hahaha... Thanks @elizacheng ... this year is going to be wonderful... looking forward to seeing your kids talent... :)

Thanks for sharing these nice drawing @sireh.

thank you... thanks also for visiting my blog.

Nice drawing @sireh 👍🏻 Happy Chinese New Year to you as well 😊

Thanks @aaronleang ... wish you a very happy CNY...

Another brilliant piece of work bro @sireh

Thanks Master... had fun doing it... hahaha...

fish eye concept..best ni sireh..

haha... tenkiu...

Haiya...manyak cantik ooo.... ada lasa mood tahun balu cine maa... Nice artworks.

hehe... tenkiu wak...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57