Depressed n Tired; SUNDAY ARTWORK

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

m3.png

Heyyy people on the internet! How are you guys?? Great? Oh! Oh! Yeah.. Merry Christmas.

So today I want to post my artwork for a competition. BUT the deadline is already dead. YES! YES! Actually I am so high, I don't know where to start. Hmm. OK. Yeah.. I disappointed of myself because I could not make this artwork on time. You know? The drawing challenge... Draw someone who sitting on chair.
Click here if you want to know : https://steemit.com/art/@helene/drawing-challenge-12-new-theme-30-sbd-12

It is a steemit contest, not an official contest but I still want to join it but yeah I failed because I misread the deadline. The deadline is on 21 December but what I read is a date for announcement for winner on 28 December. SO, I thought it was 28 December. But when I read it again yesterday, it is 21 December. YAY! everybody, YAY!

So, I just think that I need to proceed with the artwork and post it on Steemit and I hope you guys love it.

OK, LETS GET START
This artwork is actually inspired from my very old artwork that I draw in 2013, 4 years past and look how my art style changes. I mean a lot changes happen here.

So for the new one, I want to create an artwork that have meaning. SO the message that I want to deliver here is I want to show A BOY who has depression, faking his emotion and he is tired and he wants to have a rest.
It is very cliche, I knew it, just shut up.

So I have the idea and now I need to do the sketching.

SKETCHING TIME~

New Canvas.jpg

Based on my old artwork I need to redraw the posing of someone who sit on chair. SO, from the LEFT you can see the weird looking skeleton that I draw, It used for me to determine how the body part will bends or doing their own pose for my artwork. SO technically its a guideline for me.

So I am making the eye without a pupil. It's to show that THE BOY is hopeless and his my mind is all blank. He also look tired. So make sure the expression of the boy is sad and also depressed. I also put him a sweater. WHY sweater?? Because I want to show that he is cold right now.

About FAKING HIS OWN EMOTION;
So to show that, I just simply make him holding a mask that look like smiling or happy human face. So he must be wear that thing when he meet someone else just to hide his emotion. Its just a symbolic for people who faking their own emotion.

About SEEKING THE PEACE. He is tired, so I make him a chair just for him to have rest.

Its simple idea and the most important, the artwork have a meaning to tell about. Even thought its cliche.

COLORING TIME~

For the coloring time my plan is to make all things is black and white BUT I change my mind because it will look so boring and dull. So I need to put some color on it but too bad, I suck picking a color. Seriously!
So, the solution is, I search the color palette on google and I found this:
6960.png
Check it here: http://www.color-hex.com/color-palette/6960

So they call this color palette "SADNESS color palette" and I thought its cool. So I just used it and put it on my artwork and guess what? It is really cool. I think, when you suck at something, just Google and find the solution.

New Canvas2.jpg

So when I done put color, I put the shadow and shade it. So the shadow is not really a gray its dark blue then I decrease the opacity to make it blend with the original color. So it will make a shadow effect. So use dark blue, very dark blue!

So if you are noticed, the chair color is golden colour. Because the used for him to sit or rest. So an achievement, something precious for him to have.

m3.jpg

SO then I put simple background as usual, my real plan is I want to keep it blank and just white, but since I noticed that the artwork having too much free space, so filled with something like red to show his anger and also dark blue as the dark side of himself, he is sad and also depressed.

GIFMaker.org_6lJ7dA.gif

Thank you. I hope you like my artwork. See you again on the next other post! and Merry Christmas!

Sort:  

Nice post, beautifully presented and explained. Detail oriented with nice pics. Thank you for sharing this with us, Upvoted

Thank you so much @kingjan! Glad that you like it.

Nice work bro :) ...thanks share color-hex.com.

Thank you. No problem, I hope that website might help people to choose their color scheme or palette. :D

Congratulations @zhafiqkun, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 7628 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1828.90. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I am honored, sir. Thank you so much!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @zhafiqkun to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Had this been entered into the contest on time, I believe it would have won. Even though it did not win the contest, I am happy to see the community gave this the recognition it deserved.

Haha you are right, I hope when I see this kind of contest I would make sure I make it on time. Thanks for reading btw. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78