My journey begins

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

So.... I have just finish with my FYP few weeks ago. I am right now on my way to my graduation ceremony. While waiting in the process, i started out this interesting animation exercises to boost my animating skills. Even though nowadays companies demanding a lot for 3D animators in my country, but it wouldn't hurt to practice with 2D animation as well. The good thing about this is, I am able to practice my visual sense of timing, form and drawing skills, at the same time. Besides, the thing that i learned in 2D will be a huge advantage to 3D animation. Its basically hitting two birds with one stone. From this exercise, I have to start from the bottom again. There are 51 of them.
Here is the link if u guys wanna check em out
http://www.animatorisland.com/51-great-animation-exercises-to-master/

Exercise 1 - Looping bouncing ball at one place.
Practice 1 Bouncing Ball.gif

Exercise 2 - Bouncing ball across the floor.
This one is kinda tricky than before. Each consecutive bounce has different set of timing and placement. I really had trouble at the middle part of the bounce
bouncing ballgif.gif

Exercise 3 - brick fall
This one i can't animate it out of blind eye. I have to take a look on some reference to get the correct timing and feeling.
Exercise 3.gif

Exercise 4 - simple character head turn
The description says that I only have to draw simple head turn, but i want to be a little bit adventurous XD. When I posted on one of the animation groups to get some feedback, ooooh...they did give me a lot of feedback.

Head turn exercise.gif

Exercise 5 - Head turn with anticipation.
Same with the previous exercise but this time , I have to put some thought process behind that head turn. However the animation still not loose enough

Anticipation head turn.gif

Exercise 6 - Blinking.
Before you say anything i would like to explain that the previous exercise doesn't count because the blinking expression is added for secondary action. This exercise, the blinking action is the main criteria. As I look some tutorials. I learn to be a little more looser when doing my rough animation :D
blink practicegif.gif

Thanks for staying till the end of this post !

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Very cool to be able to see through some of the process, and the struggles you are sometimes faced with.
It's much tougher than it looks that's for sure!
How long would it take you to do that brick fall for example (from its drawings to the final animated video)?

to be honest i just refer back to the reference that i follow so it wouldn't take so much time. If i were going to animate with a blind eye i am sure its gonna be alot longer to get the timing right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70774.91
ETH 3779.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57