Steemit help - How to check your voting power, add Emojis, and format your postssteemCreated with Sketch.

Hi fellow Steemians,

As a newbie, I didn't know how to format the text nicely, add emojis, or look up how much voting power I had left. I found answers to some of my questions from Google and old Steemit posts. In this post, I will share what I learned with you.

1. How do I check how much voting power I have left?
This is actually pretty easy. You can go to steemd.com/@username where you substitute your username in. For example, if you username is "sillymonkey" you would type in steemd.com/@sillymonkey

Voting power.png

2. How to add Emojis
@blueorgy has done a wonderful job compiling a list of popular Emoji codes. Check it out below:
https://steemit.com/emojis/@blueorgy/steemit-emojis-master-list
My favorites are 😄 😄 😊 😊 and 😉 😉
Make sure you include the ; at the end of the Emoji code, otherwise it won't work!

3. How to format your text nicely
Steemit uses Markdown to format text. It's pretty straight forward to you. You can click on the "Markdown Styling Guide" which is right above where you preview your post, or you can just go to https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/.

The most useful formatting I've found are bold and italics.

To make something bold, you just need to add ** around a word or a sentence. For example, **Hello!** becomes Hello!

To italicize something, you add _ around the word or sentence. For example, _Thanks!_ becomes Thanks! Check out the guide, it's got loads of info!

4. How to add line breaks

One thing not found in the Markdown Styling Guide which I accidentally stumbled upon is how to make line breaks. If you type ***, it will look like this:


See, it added a nice little line across the page to break your post into different sections! You can try it out on your posts too!

I hope you have found this post helpful!

If you enjoyed this post, feel free to upvote, resteem and follow me! And please leave a comment to let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Thanks, this is very helpful @sizzlingmonkeys! As a newbie it can be a bit overwhelming to figure out how it all works.

I had already figured out some of the editing 😉 .

In addition to the tips you share, here are some other tools I find very helpful:

  • Steemnowcom: fill in any username in the field at the top right, and you can quickly see their current voting power on a nice scale. Also has other info, like latest upvotes, curation rewards and author rewards.
  • Steem.cool: Enter your username, and see your Reputation Level, plus how many REP remains to move up to the next level (as I'm typing this: from 41 to 42, in my case).
  • Emojipedia.org: I use this site for emojis. Simply search for an emoji, and click on the copy button. Paste it in your post, and that's it 😊

Hope this helps!

Oh, wow, that's for sharing the great resources! I just copy and pasted this from Emojipedia.org! 😉 I can't believe they even have HAMSTER! 🐹 And I LOVE that it's searchable - so easy to find just the right Emoji!

Yes, I KNOW! What a lifesaver, huh?

Now that I use it everyday, I don't know how I ever lived without it 🤷

Emojis (and gifs) are half of the fun here on Steemit.

I tried resteeming your comment, but apparently we can only resteem posts.

Would you mind if I shared this resource in a new post? I think Emojipedia is much easier to use than searching through a list of Emojis and copying and pasting code, and I don't think a lot of Steemians know about it yet.

Not at all! I found these resources in other Steemit posts myself, and ever since I have been using them every day. Especially Emojipedia is great. So the more Steemians find out about them, the better 😉 !

And I'll resteem your post, when I see it.

I didn't know how to do this things, was going to check it in the guide if i need heh.
Thanks for the shortcut lol!)

You're welcome! The guide has a lot more information on formatting and is worth checking out when you have time.

Congratulations @sizzlingmonkeys! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ooh, was wondering how to do the emojis!! Definitely going to use that. Thanks for the info 😄

You're welcome. Glad you found the post useful!

Greaaat :D .. I appriciate it
Thank you for sharing @sizzlingmonkeys
Have a nice day :)

It's good to have a markup guide available to you when you are posting new content. Even though I learnt most of them, you always forget something and have to go back. Thanks for putting them in a single spot.

Glad you found the post useful!

I had questions on three of your topics so thank you so much for your help. I sure do appreciate it. You saved me a lot of time. :)

You're welcome! Glad my post was able to help. 😊

Thank you sizzlingmonkeys

Do you know how to make additional line breaks without the horizontal line?
A line break without any visual line..

ronni

Hi ronni, I'm no expert, but I'll try to answer your question. Usually you can make line breaks just by pressing the "Enter" key to add a space between lines. Sometimes, when you have formatting like headings (####), markdown won't recognize your new paragraphs.

You can add new paragraphs by typing . \ will tell markdown to ignore formatting commands. Check out the example below:


#### Hello
\
how are you?

will look like

Hello


how are you?


Notice how the \ added the line break below "Hello" and "how are you?"

Hope this helps answer your question! If not, send me another comment!

That was exactly what I was looking for sizzlingmonkeys, thank you very much!

I have been experimenting with loads of various commands without discovering the "/". So simple yet so effective.

Awesome reply
ronni

"\" not "/" 😉

Glad I could help, ronni!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73