❓Answering Common Questions: How Much is my Steemit Account ACTUALLY Worth? 💵

in #steem-help6 years ago (edited)

The Estimated Value isn't necessarily correct?!?!

So would you like to know it's value,
right now...in US dollars?


Like I did in my previous guide on How is my post's payout calculated into Steem Power and Steem Dollars? There is going to be a little bit of math, but I promise it won't be anything difficult.

Q: So how can I figure out my current account value in US dollars?

The major reason the Estimated Account Value can be inaccurate is because your Steem Dollars are being treated as if they were worth $1 US of Steem, instead of over $7 right now. If all you have are Steem and Steem Power, then your account value will likely (not always) be more accurate. (This is because this uses a 3.5 day average of the Steem price. So major price movements in a short amount of time can throw it off.)

We're going to use this as our example:

Current Price of Steem (at time of writing) = $6.50/Steem

So what we're going to do is multiply your Steem and Steem Power times the current price of Steem, multiply your Steem Dollars by the current price of your Steem Dollars...and add it all together.

[NOTE: You can NOT sell you Steem Power until it's 'unlocked' a bit each week by powering down.]

In our example, our Steem is worth:

Amount of Steem * Steem Price = 2.002 Steem * $6.50/Steem = $13.013

our Steem Power is worth:

Steem Power * Steem Price = 19.521 Steem Power * $6.50/Steem = $126.89

You'll ONLY use the part on the top line...NOT the number in parentheses.

and your Steem Dollars are worth:

Steem Dollars * Steem Dollar Price = 97.507 SD * $7.08/SD = $690.35

YOUR GRAND TOTAL IS...

Steem Value + Steem Power Value + Steem Dollar Value
=$13.013 + $126.89 + $690.35 = $830.25

One final note...

You'll have to check the current prices and replace the ones I used for Steem and Steem Power. Also, this doesn't mean the prices when be the same if you were to power down and/or transfer things through a final exchange.

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Helpful.


Click HERE for a list of All my Guides!

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Image Sources:
Accountant

Sort:  

Thank you for doing the math for us! Nice post :)

No Problem. :)
I really do get asked this question a lot and it's much easier to just show it this way than just telling them. :)

Yep..that's totally no problem. All I ever ask for it just a credit with link back the original, which you already had in there. Perfect. :)

Feel free to translate any of my guides...and you can keep any payouts from them! :)

Thanks for this explanation. What does the +50 Steem mean in () under Steam power?

That is Steem Power that's been "delegated" to you. Think of it as a loan of Steem Power from somebody else. Likely in your case, it was 'loaned' to you temporarily by the main Steemit account...for free.

This delegated, or loaned Steem Power acts as if it's yours when you vote...so your vote gives more $ when you cast it. However, you can't actually withdraw that loaned Steem Power since you don't actually own it.

I hope I didn't make it more confusing...but I'll put a guide together on this topic. :)

can I translate this post to other languages?
thank you

Absolutely...all I ask is including a link to the original. You can keep any payouts you get. :)

Wow ! such great information @sykochica ! thanks for sharing !!upped and resteemed😀👍👍👍💲💲💲💲

Thank you!
...and I LOVE your bling there! :D

we never know that the first time steem launched the steem price is very cheap, but now amazing. we will not be awkward to add back steem power that is so expensive.
@sykochica

Thanks for this very helpful post. It answered some of the confusing and nagging questions that had been perturbing my since I joined this platform a few weeks ago.

I'm more than happy to help out!
Feel free to ask any other questions you might have. I'm sure I can either get you a 'guide' that I've made on it or just provide then answer if I don't have one. :)

slowly understanding how all this works, thanks for the post explaining it.

:) no problem!
I know the learning curve here is daunting..def don't let it overwhelm you. Just pick up little bits each day. :)

Thank you for relavant info to the rest of us steemians. There is so much to learn and remember. 🐓🐓
Resteemed.

@sykochica, I sound like a broken record when I say
"your posts are so helpful."
I don't ever miss any of your posts.

I had difficulty calculating the value of my account and how my rewards were distributed between curators and authors. It took me some time and a lot of reading to get it right.

I hope this peice gets to as many newbies and those who need it. I resteemed and shared the link with a few newbies I introduced to steemit to help them.
Upvoted and resteemed.
Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76