❓Answering Common Questions: What is ReSteeming or ReBlogging? What does it do? 💵

in #steem-help6 years ago

Should I do it? Do I earn anything?

This rather simple concept has led to a lot of questions.


Q: What's a ReSteem (or ReBlog) do? How do I do it?

Resteeming somebody else's post does two simple things:

  • It places it at the top of your blog
  • It's sent into the feed of your followers (just like making your own posts would do.)
    • Now this can be a bit more effective doing it at least a couple days after the post was created. Ideally spreading it around to a different set of people.

That's it...that's all it does.

So how do I actually reblog something?

In a couple places, you'll find a small arrow that looks like this:

This will either be on a 'list-view'

or at the bottom of a post, to the right of the payout and votes.

Simply click this 'arrow' button...click OK when it asks you if you're sure you want to ReSteem it..and you're done! Go see it on your blog!

Q: Do I earn anything by ReSteeming somebody's post?

No. You do not directly get anything for ReSteeming.

However, you could potentially vote on the post and then ReSteem it in the hopes of increasing it's payout...so you'd get more curation rewards from it.

Q: Should I ReSteem things? Does it hurt or help me?

(My Opinion)

The only way it can hurt you is if you ReSteem so that I have a really hard time finding any of your posts. Often I goto people's blogs looking for something I find interesting, not the people they ReSteemed. I have moved on to vote elsewhere because of this.

In the end..this is up to you and your preferences. But I will give you my thoughts:

  • I'm rather picky on why I'll ReSteem. I don't like people having to sift through tons of these to find my posts. So I usually do 4-5 a week.
  • Some curators (people who focus on finding good posts) that don't post much can instead ReSteem a lot more.
  • One point to ReSteeming is to try and support somebody buy sharing with your followers
  • I also like people to come to my blog even while I'm not posting...so I'll ReSteem some posts over that time.

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Helpful.


Click HERE for a list of All my Guides!

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Image Sources:
Reblog

Sort:  

I don’t usually resteem. I think steemit should allow a feature to mention some words when u resteem. Like the way it happens on other sites. I sometimes feel some posts are worth resteeming but i wish i could also say a few words about it which isn’t possible here until now.

72C89CA8-9AB2-4375-B6B5-34CEF398D9CE.png

I can totally understand that...that's a feature I would love to have. I would think it'd making resteeming more effective, since you'd be able to actually provide some context with why you're sharing it with your followers...instead of just, 'here you go...you figure out why I put this here."

The other big one I'd love is a filter option on my own blog...so I could only look at my own posts, only look at resteemed posts, etc. So many times when I'm showing my blog to people, I find it a bit of a pain having to say..."this is mine, this is not..."

Yes that would also be amazing. I wish i could give suggestions to the developers. There are so many amazing changes that can be made on steemit and some of them are really necessary!!!

We can always make a request to them in their Github...but I've tended to not put too much energy into that for a long while now.

Not meaning this as a complaint...they'll do and get to the 'features' they want, when they want. So I tend to not get excited to await anything specific, just so I don't get frustrated. I'll honestly be surprised if they put more features into steemit in the foreseeable future...with their major focus being the Smart Media Tokens (and other bigger things that still have to get dealt with like the bandwidth calculations.)

I have at least seen chrome extensions before that did all the things we've mentioned. It's just been a while and I'd have to track them down...on top of I don't know if they still are working.

WoW! amazing.!. :D All of my doubts had been answered.. ! especially for NEW members like me :) we will re-blog this post as this are very useful with us.. :)

great information shared.i also resteem the posts which i think deserve more exposure and add value to the steemit community. will resteem this one for sure as many people join stemit everyday and know not much about steemit.

Thank you! :D

Thanks @sykochica... You have always been a mentor... I'll resteem this post and give it my 100% vote

You make good points regarding when/why to resteem and I have to say it aligns pretty much with my own opinions. The only thing I would add is that I don't tend to resteem much simply because I often forget its an option :))

Wow! Ur answers to common questions is a "must read"... i dont know if there's a front page on steemit, this should be posted on it.
Thanks for all your guides, it got me where i am today on steemitunnamed.gif

Hehehe...thank you!

There is the front page with the official steemit faq at www.steemit.com/welcome ...and it is good info. I just take a different approach giving 'just enough' to understand, without always getting into the nitty gritty details that seem to overwhelm some people.

Never used it till now until i don't feel like its important

Woman-Says-Thank-you-Gif-Picture.gif
Thanks so much for this information. You made it simpler to understand.

Oh... Thank you! :-)
Happy to be helpful.

I resteem if I like it. Sometimes it's easier to resteem than comment

Hehe, I totally understand! Much appreciated!

Yw!! I'm still trying to get my head around the coin/steem/power thing tho!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68