❓Answering Common Questions: Why do my Post Payouts and Account Value go down?

in #steem-help6 years ago

I've got the same amount of votes and Steem, but they're going down! WHY?

First thing to mention is that this is quite normal! Even though these both fluctuate up and down, usually people just notice when it's gone down. This guide will cover why your post payouts and estimated account value are fluctuating.

Q: Why is my post payout going down? I've got the same amount of votes and no flags!?!


There are a few things that can effect a post payout outside of votes and flags. The biggest factor is the price of Steem over the last few days.

Remember that it's actually Steem that is being distributed to our posts from votes. A vote isn't actually giving you US dollars (or whatever your local currency is)...it gives a portion of the newly created Steem that day in the 'reward pool.' Steemit actually converts the amount of Steem that's been awarded to your post into US dollars (or your displayed currency.)

To get this value, the post value is calculated by multiplying the amount of Steem it's earned by the 3.5 day average price of Steem (on the open Market.)

Post Payout = amount of Steem its earned from votes (out of the reward pool) * 3.5 day average price of Steem

So when the Steem price goes down, you'll see the value of your post payout go down. The same thing happens when the price goes up (and your payout goes up,) but I've never heard anyone really question the increases.

Q: Why is my Estimated Account Value going down?

Much like the the answer on why post payouts fluctuate, your estimated account value uses the 3.5 day average of the price of Steem (on the open market.) This average price is them multiplied by how much Steem and Steem Power you have.

However Steem Dollars are calculated into your account value as if it equaled $1 US, even though they are selling for a lot more right now. (This is why it's better to take the 50/50 rewards instead of the 100% powerup. Since you're paid out as if it was only worth $1.

Estimated Account Value = (Amount of Steem * 3.5 day average price of Steem) +
(Amount of Steem Power * 3.5 day average price of Steem) +
(Amount of Steem Dollars * $1)

Ultimately there is nothing going wrong, it's just that the price of Steem fluctuates and you are seeing the effect from that. But remember that these same fluctuations also make your payouts and account value go UP!

Part 1 of the guide on getting more votes can be found HERE

Part 2 of the guide on getting more votes can be found HERE

Click HERE for a list of All my Guides!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Guide Helpful.


Image Sources:
Stewie
Steem Chart from Coin Market Cap

Sort:  

Educational as always. You never seem to fall below your standard. Thanks for all the great posts so far, keep them coming.
Happy New Year.

I had no idea that the post "payout" amount fluctuated based on the market value of Steem currently. So I guess if Steem stays high up as it is now, post values will begin to increase if I understand correctly?

Exactly!!
The longer it stays up near this $5 level, the higher the increase well see. It's the shorter spikes that go back down that we don't see as much of an effect from since it's the 3.5 day average.

I appreciate this post. I had the same question and this explained it very well. I wasn’t sure how the price was estimated either. Thank you.

I'm happy to help out! I know there are soooo many things to learn on here and ideally it makes things a little less worrisome when we at least know why they're happening. :)

let's hope it goes up ... yes, it is very disheartening when it goes down. Thanks for posting what is going on. I know it is because the price is going up or down, however, it is nice to read why.

I'm right there with you! But it does happen.
If it makes you feel any better though...today the Steem price has been shooting up, hitting all time highs. So you'll be seeing your post and account values going up pretty soon, especially if this price holds for a while. :D

If you notice that It's already started to rise

Amazing ur job
I like ur post
Good luck @skyochica👍

Always helpful. Thank you very much.

I have been in Steemit only two weeks so far and there is so much to learn. This is one of the things I noticed and I was wondering what causes that. Your posts "Answering common ? " is literally like a school book to me :-) I found you through a post @suesa resteemed not long ago, thank you, I appreciate your help ladies.

I totally understand! This place was daunting when I first started too!

Thank you! I love getting to hear that these guides help out. (Suesa rocks!) :)

Btw...if you're ever interested...you might check out the Team Girl Powa discord community. There's a lot of cool girls in there. (just have a discord account and click the girl powa banner at the bottom of my post.)

I will definitely do that, thank you again and have a great day/night :-)

Yes thanks alot i got clear :) i have too trouble from these in my past post of sikkim travel.

Oh that's why their is a bit of different calculations involved wow thanks for sharing this post very helpful
maths.gif

Thanks for the informative post! Took me a looooong time to get my head around how this platform works and I'm sure I still have plenty to learn :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78