🎮 Attention Gamers!! How To Embed Your Live Gaming Stream directly into Your Steemit Post! 🎮

in #steem-help7 years ago

Bring on the Live Gamers!!

You know you Want To!

Twitch doesn't work...and a link from YouTube gaming isn't an option. But I have found a workaround for this! Just follow these very simple steps and your live stream will work inside your Steemit post!!

Step 1: Set up OBS...it's FREE!

Get setup to stream on Youtube's gaming section at gaming.youtube.com. I use Open Broadcast Software myself and this video will walk you through the setup for broadcasting to your Youtube Gaming channel:

Step 2: Get the embed code!

The easiest method once you're streaming is to just goto your own channel (just www.youtube.com not gaming.youtube.com) and you can get the embed code from there. You can use the actual link...but those can't be centered and I'm rather anal on how my posts look.

[NOTE: In case all you can get to is your Youtube gaming channel...use these instructions.]
Once you are streaming to Youtube Gaming, go to your channel where the URL will start with a gaming.youtube.com/watch address. As you will see the only share option here is a direct link (versus the normal embed) which doesn't actually work to show a video in a Steemit post.

All you have to do is change the gaming.youtube.com part of the URL to www.youtube.com (make sure to keep the rest of the URL the same, just change gaming to www.) This will then reload the page without the gaming overlay, making it look like any other youtube video or stream page. From here, simply click the share button, select embed, and copy the iframe link they provide you.

Just paste this embed/iframe link into your post...and you are set to go!

Here is a previous live stream of All Steemians playing Paladins as an example!

I've not tried it myself, but there is a pay-for service called ReStream.io that lets you stream Twitch and YouTube at the same time!


Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓Answering Common Questions: How do people align things? How do I get those fancy designs between paragraphs? 🎭

❓Answering Common Questions: Wow! Why did my payouts go WAY up? What's this hardfork I keep hearing about? 🍴

❓Answering Common Questions: How NOT to gain Meaningful Votes or Good Followers! 💩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can you explain how Powering Down works to me? 🔌

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get a Video I have on Fakebook, err Facebook, onto Steemit? 🎥

❓Answering Common Questions: What's this Promoted tab? Should I use it? ⏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I know if I got Flagged? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can I voice chat with Steemians? Learn how and where to Discord! 🎤

❓Answering Common Questions: What is STP (Steemit Talk Podcast)? 🎧

❓Answering Common Questions: I've heard Steemit is Censorship Resistant, What does that mean? 🚫

❓Answering Common Questions: What is @Randowhale? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I spend money from my Steemit wallet? 💲

❓Answering Common Questions: What are flags and downvotes? When should they be used? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: How can I see who last Resteemed, Followed me or How much my Pending Payouts are?

❓Answering Common Questions: What is SteemTrail? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Screenshot was from a live Steemit stream that was embedded here many months ago.

Sort:  

I'm having trouble with this. It won't let me embed the live stream. It says it is disabled and that I have to enable monetization but I can't enable that until I have 10,000 views and my channel gets reviewed. Any help please I've actually been meaning to talk to you about this on STP but I always forget.

Yep, I'll def work with you to get it figured out. I hadn't hit that when I'd set it up. Sure we can figure it out.

Not sure if this will help you guys but here is a link that explains the iframe embed method. Problem is i'm not sure if you can use this method on Steemit. Someone with more knowledge of html will have to test it :) https://dev.twitch.tv/docs/v5/guides/embed-video/

If you write 339 words in a row you'll have helped delay the zombie apocalypse by just that little bit more.

339 words in a row

just doing my part to save the world ;-)

Can't wait to see dongers on Steamit :))

donger-meme.jpg

Good post And help, again. Sadly i do not have enough time to start gaming as i am to busy steeming!

It looks like you have a lot of fun!

Thanks. I needed that info.

Great resource! I plan to live stream one of my Dev Blog entries pretty soon, and give my followers a behind the scenes look at how the game is being developed.

I guess my brother-in-law might be interested in doing this.
Thanks for the post.

Wow - That is seriously cool. I am no gamer but used to be a nerd in my college days. Therefore, I still get a thrill when someone finds workarounds like this. Makes me pick up my PS3 controllers again and post some gameplay! (Though PS3 and those games would be seriously outdated now I guess. LOL)

Its best I focus on my hobby of wildlife photography and travel. I would be honored if you check my latest blogs when you have time. Your comments will be very valuable to enrich my experience. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71054.38
ETH 3862.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52