Christian expose to the worldly music (Part 1)

in #steem-music6 years ago (edited)

Hey people, sorry haven’t been posting frequently in daily. Oh well, to keep on trying things, today I’m gonna share something different.

Before going into further, let me tell you one thing. Well, from previous blog I’ve mentioned about my music background and serving in ministry.

So there’s two events, I’ve been called to coordinate the worship team for Radiate KK 2017 and Colossal KK 2017. Incredible things we did is that to change a non-Christian song lyrics to biblical so that we could reach out to more young people’s heart.

And the thing is I was privileged to being assigned to be part of changing the song lyrics. In Radiate KK 2017, it was my first time being asked to change the whole song lyrics. My first reaction was of course nervous, panic, no idea of how it works. It is none other than @calvinlee who made this challenge to me :))

D523363A-D16D-42F6-8A5F-FFDCBA694EB7.jpeg

But time and time again, through the greatness of his strong and spiritual guidance, I slowly learnt to pick up on the details of how to change

Shout out: Radiate KK is a youth conference that catered for all the young people to encounter and explore their faith through the rally, sessions, sports tournaments.
Facebook: Radiate Movement

This was a theme song that were originally a non-Christian song, so we took out the original lyrics and make it into biblical & thoughful words that would change the young people hearts towards God with its music.

5D53DB38-7DFE-4542-B11D-D469BC4F8130.jpeg

Victorious - Panic at the Disco
Lyrics changed by Calvin Lee, Jordan Quek, Bennet Yong

(Chorus)
Tonight we are victorious
Favor's pouring over us
Oh the cross so glorious
In Christ we are victorious

(Verse)
People worked for diamond rings
Chasing after limousine
Imitation Kings and Queens
But he's the only one true king
We faught to reach the top
We were lovers of ourselves
Was a victim of my own vice
Then Jesus came to save my life

(Verse 2)
His love is great and scandalous
And nothing like our earthly love
I know you need it, do you feel it
From the river and the vine

(P. Chorus)
Oh we gotta turn up the crazy
Livin' out a life of intergrity
Praise like fireworks of a love we can't hide
Until they see the light
Until they see the light

(Verse 3)
Once we were lost now forgiven and free
Its more than magic, best miracles you've ever seen
On a tree, took our shame, love's now bloody red
Criminals and murderers, Jesus died for all of us

Then, in Colossal Lockdown Sleepover 2017, a youth camp for all the ages 12-14, that are designed for the junior young ones to explore the real meaning of a teenage life in God’s kingdom and how it meant so much for the teenagers to live out life that’s shining God’s wonder to world as a believer.

62E2D6AC-8062-487F-BBBA-0CB78254AC56.jpeg
Facebook: Blast&Co Colossal Lockdown 2017

By God’s plan I guess, I’m being assigned to change the lyrics in our camp theme song, called “Run Dry” by Patrick Stump.

Run Dry - Patrick Stump
Lyrics changed by Calvin Lee, Bennet Yong

(Interlude)
I'm gonna take
One more shot, so let’s praise Him together
With one heart, with one rhythm

(Verse 1)
Woke up this morning
My heart’s beating
I still remember how I came to light
Left sin city, found forgiveness
Cause I will always remember how he saved my life

(Verse 2)
When I was drown in love
This love is all I ever need
My life’s a song for you, my saviour’s walking with me

(P. Chorus)
I'm gonna lift His name non stop
Til everyone sees Him,
Believes Him

(Chorus)
Step one: sing (scream)
Step two: praise His name
Step three: His love we will remember
Step four: dance a little more
Step five: in Him there's new life
This is my new life

(Verse 3)
The world tried killing Him
But willingly
My Jesus came surrendered as the gift of life
Changed history through forgiveness
Cause I will always remember how he changed my life

(Verse 4)
Love so high so deep and so wide
This truth we will carry
We worship like we’re crazy

Our nation / Risk it
We’re trying to save save save back back
Lives
We’re trying to get get get back back

Praising Jesus need[s] no moderation
And we will sing it from the rooftop
With outstretched arms / Out from my lungs
I I’m gonna sing this til the world sees You

D87F3446-F04A-456B-AB64-0A2FD217A9CC.jpeg

During the process of changing lyrics, especially the first time, it was a very tough time and efforts taken to done the whole project. Besides the cause of no experiences, it is also because I have poor standards of English and also to admit that I have not keeping my game up in the knowledge of bible(Ya right, felt some guilty while looking back).

28273FED-FCBF-4276-8463-E2CA9D7D34E4.jpeg

There is a thought came into my mind that changing lyrics of a non-Christian song (WOW how amazing is that). Yes for me I would think that it’s a WOW special thing because this is something that not much Christian/Youth group will do.

1F45C2BF-024C-4DFB-A9D9-A116F40D94EE.jpeg

Some people may agree or may not agree with this yet. But in my opinion, I believe that God has created people to be special, God has made all things in his own plans to be special, but in a good way that God wants la haha. So inside my heart when preparing for the changed version lyrics, my purpose is hoping to blessed people and change their hearts to the kingdom of God, Jesus.
That people not just impressed by the Christian worship songs(of course it really does a lot), but some can also being impressed by the worldly music with changed lyrics that is filled by the Holy Spirit.

Above all, they are just my thoughts and ideas done throughout the season. We will discover more about the “WHY” in part 2. Hope it blesses you in anyways it can. Have a blessed day!

Please do check out Breath of Boldness recent covers:

⬇️ Eric周輿哲 feat.許瑋甯《 黏黏 The Way You Make Me Feel 》BreathofBoldness Cover ⬇️

⬇️ Let Her Go - BreathofBoldness ⬇️
https://dsound.audio/#/@calvinlee/let-her-go-breathofboldness-2018

Thank you!

Sort:  

why your posts always so nice!?

Really meh? Haha thank you Jesus!! :p Well, I think I still got way more rooms to improve.

Good write up and perspective on creative songwriting! Lyrically interesting to see how secular songs are in comparison with worship songs

Yeah.. secular songs has its own pros and cons. I think the great thing will be utilising the pros :))

Congratulations @bennetyong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You're awesome! ;)

Thanks Steph!! You’re awesome too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61