Where is my head at?

I guess that by now, anyone reading my blog here regularly will be starting to wonder where my head is at? Since starting out on the Steem ecosystem about two months ago, I have posted a few odd blog posts about myself and my progress on this blockchain, such as this early post I made. I've also posted about a few things which are of specific interest to me locally here in New Zealand, such as the alcohol licensing trusts monopoly and kauri dieback disease. After that, I found out about SteemMonsters and started writing about that. Then came Chibera, and I made a few posts about that. Now I've moved on again, to Steempunk.net, from the looks of yesterday's post.

Clearly, after these last two months on Steem, I haven't really found my “niche” yet. I've seen the Looking For Niche Discord, but that seems to be more of a search tool for people wanting to write collaboratively with people who share your interest(s). However, as I said in my original #introduceyourself post, I am a philomath, which Wikipedia describes as “someone who greatly enjoys learning”, and I tend to flit from one subject to the next, learning a little about each as I go. I may occasionally come back and learn more about something which I've visited previously, but mostly I am like a rolling stone, ever moving forward.

While many things take my interest, and I may seem to be really mad keen on them, it takes a lot to really engage me in something long-term. My wife has even made the observation recently that I've been on the Steem blockchain itself for a remarkably long time now, for me! 😎 That said, I will have been married to my wife for coming up on 18 years this November, so I am capable of long-term commitments when I need to be!

Yesterday I received a message from a user named @happyme, asking...

🙚 𝑯𝒂𝒗𝒆 𝒚𝒐𝒖 𝒄𝒉𝒆𝒄𝒌𝒆𝒅 𝒐𝒖𝒕 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒈𝒂𝒎𝒆𝒔 𝒃𝒚 @happyme 𝒂𝒏𝒅 @simplegame? 🙘

This has given me an idea for a way that I can put my inherent philomathy to good use. Someone who flits around like I do, from one interesting thing to the next, would be ideally suited to being a review writer! I could make it my mission here to find new and upcoming ways that the Steem blockchain is being used. The imminent release of Smart Media Tokens (if I understand that concept correctly) is a great opportunity for me to discover some of these new ways that Steem is being used. I already have an account on SteemProjects.com, so maybe I should contact them about becoming a contributor there. I see from their FAQ that “everyone can contribute, by creating a pull request”, or that even non-programmers like me can contribute to SteemProjects.com, “by adding information about new projects”. That sounds like something I can do, and which plays to my strengths as a philomath. Further information about contributing to SteemProjects.com can be found in this post from 9 months ago, by @noisy. I have also just joined their Steem.chat channel, and guess who was the last person to have joined their channel immediately before me?! 😆

I am a proud member of the AUS & NZ Discord server. My thanks to @cryptonik for making me this cool #TeamNZ banner. Kia Kaha!

This post is part of my first attempt to gain the WEEKLY AUTHOR award on the SteemItBoard.com website.

The textual content of this post is licensed as a Free Cultural Work using a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-SA 4.0) license, which grants all the four freedoms listed in the definition of free cultural works, including: ① The freedom to use and perform the work; ② The freedom to study the work and apply the information; ③ The freedom to redistribute copies; and ④ The freedom to distribute derivative works. This license places three key restrictions on those freedoms: ⑤ 𝐍𝐨 𝐃𝐑𝐌 𝐨𝐫 𝐓𝐏𝐌: You must not restrict access to the work using technical measures, or otherwise attempt to impose limitations on the freedoms above; ⑥ 𝐀𝐭𝐭𝐫𝐢𝐛𝐮𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧: You must give proper attribution to the author (𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮) and retain the license notice; and ⑦ 𝐂𝐨𝐩𝐲𝐥𝐞𝐟𝐭: You must release derivative works under an identical or similar license.

IMAGE CREDITS:
• The image used for the post thumbnail is a remix by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮. It includes the pexels-photo-295175 image created by Rafael, which has been released under an unspecified but permissive Pexels license. It also includes the away-1019745 image created by 3dman_eu, which has been released under a Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0) license. Furthermore, it also includes assets from the various Steem-powered games as listed in the body text above. These assets are used for product identification purposes only, and remain the property of their respective rights holders.
• The image used for the horizontal rule separators throughout this post is an original created by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮, using the red, white, and black triskellions, inspired by Māori tukutuku panels.

Sort:  

Hi @trisquelwhare I would love to share a beer with you at the Auckland Steemit meetup next Tuesday!

Auckland.png

I am aware of the parking problem. There will also be events in other venues, which will have better accessibility and I will let you know!!

Niches are overrated. Write about whatever you like whenever you like. Variety blogs are at least as interesting as niche blogs, sometimes even moreso because there's so many different things to find!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86