My welcome bot experiment today was a success!

in #steem-project7 years ago (edited)

Today, I ran a simple "welcome bot" that I wrote in python to interact with new users in the introduction, introduceyourself and introducemyself tags and provide them with some helpful links and tips to get started and succeed on the Steem blockchain.

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 10.13.46 PM.png

My goal for this experiment was mainly to see how I could use python to automatically interact with other people on the blockchain. The results were very positive, and in just one day, the bot successfully welcomed a little over 300 people! After these amazing results, I am confident that I will be able to build a very helpful bot for users of the Steem blockchain.

Eventually, I would like to relaunch the welcome bot, but the one that I tested throughout today was not the best and I feel that it could be improved upon greatly. When I relaunch it, I would like it to be able to:

  • Know when someone who is not a new user has used #introduction, #introduceyourself or #introducemyself so the bot isn't welcoming users who have been around for months
  • Not only be a welcome bot, but be able to detect and warn about tag abuse for these three tags
  • Run on its own dedicated account so that it isn't using mine
  • Welcome users in the language that their post is in (I would require translators for this task, I only know English and some French!)

I am confident that this bot will help many users in the future and help reduce the amount of tag abuse taking place.

Thank you for reading! If anyone is interested in helping me with this project, please let me know.

Sort:  

Maybe u can teach me :)

I would like to see the code please.

Thank you.

Thanks for sharing code, I ran it with piston steem lib installed but I was getting error that module piston.steem can not be found. Any suggestion on solution?

I mean when I run the script I get ImportError: No module named piston.steem

Hey, Zach! First of all let me thank you for your amazing work. I studied your code and run it (the welcome comment bot). I'm running it on linux (pycharm) with everything set up. However, I'm always getting the error (Failed to comment on post). I really don't know why, I did everything. Sometimes it's working (the auhor's name appears in the console in the past authors array but if I visit my actual steemit profile and check the comment page, the comment was never posted). Can you help me out? It's driving me crazy. Thanks, looking forward to hearing your response. Cheers!

Hi,

The first thing I would check is that you put in your posting WIF key and username in all of the required fields.

Hey again! I did that, I really set it up correctly. It's driving me crazy because I really don't know where the problem is. Do you have to make some special configs to piston before starting the script?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60