[Project Announcement] steem-alerts - Simple STEEM price text alerts

in #steem-project7 years ago (edited)

I have finished another little project for STEEM. This script will allow you to set a price target and will send you a text when STEEM's price drops to or rises to the set target. It's a pretty self-explanatory program, but here is a walkthrough of how it works:

In the setup menu, the program asks you to input the price of STEEM you wish to be alerted at, your email service's SMTP server domain (this can usually be found in the settings menu or help section of your email service ), your email address, your email password and your phone number.

Next, the program asks for your cell carrier so it can determine what mobile gateway address to use when sending your message. I hard-coded in what I believe to be the six largest cellular carriers in the United States, but if your address is not listed, input any other number and you will be asked to enter your own carrier's mobile gateway address (a comprehensive list can be found here: https://martinfitzpatrick.name/list-of-email-to-sms-gateways/).

Next, the script will run and continue to update STEEM's price until the set target price is reached. Then, the program will send the text message and quit.

As you can see, when STEEM's price hit the set target ($1.52) a text alert was sent to my phone!

GitHub link: https://github.com/ZachC16/steem-alerts

Thanks to @lukestokes for giving me this idea with his witness monitoring bash script. Everyone should go vote for his witness (@lukestokes.mhth)!

I was only able to check that AT&T's mobile gateway address worked because they are my mobile carrier. If anyone notices a problem with any of the other addresses that I hard-coded in, please do not hesitate to create an issue or submit a pull request on GitHub (https://github.com/ZachC16/steem-alerts).

I hope that this project is useful to you. I am completely open to pull requests if anyone wants to contribute.

If you find this useful or helpful to you, please apply an upvote so all of the steemit community can see and use this project! I don't have a huge following on steemit, so I need your help with spreading this project to all who can be helped by it.

This project was created using python3 and it is licensed under the MIT License.

Sort:  

Could be a very handy idea.

Very cool idea! I love seeing new users building out useful scripts for the community. Keep it up! :)

You're welcome. Resteemed as well.

Thanks, @timcliff! It's awesome to see big members of the community like you showing their support for small developers like me! That is part of what makes steemit so great!

For sure! 'Small' developers like you are a vital part of the Steem ecosystem. It really adds a lot of value!

Very cool! Resteemed as well! 👍

I would love to contribute and sharpen my Python skills. Might have to think through some new features.

Yes! Any contribution to this project is welcome or my other one that I released last week: https://github.com/ZachC16/steemticker-osx.

Clever and useful. Well done!


Thanks Man! It is Valuable

Your project is cool! Good luck with it!

that's very cool. maybe intergrate with something like pushbullet?

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62