steemticker-osx (A simple STEEM price ticker for OSX toolbar) - version 1.4 (change log, MAJOR CHANGES)

in #steem-project7 years ago (edited)

I have made another big update to steemticker-osx. I have checked off everything on my to-do list of major updates and changes at this point, and my only updates will be bug fixes and minor changes until I come up with something new to add that is useful and/or improves ease of use of the program. Here is what's new:

https://github.com/ZachC16/steemticker-osx

NOTE: The steem-python module is now required for the program to run! Install it in terminal with: pip3 install steem.

Changes to portfolio system:

I have made a big change to the portfolio system, as I noticed myself having to open the portfolio setup screen and change my STEEM balance every time I received STEEM or collected rewards. This became annoying very quickly, so I decided to change the portfolio system to automatically update your balance every time you acquired more STEEM, STEEM-backed Dollars, or STEEM POWER. To do this, I utilized the wonderful and easy to use steem-python library (steem.readthedocs.io) to fetch account balances for an inputted username.

Here is the new look of the portfolio setup window:

As you can see, you now input your STEEM username instead of an amount of STEEM, and the program uses the steem-python library to fetch your account data and keep your balances of STEEM, STEEM-backed Dollars and STEEM POWER up to date. Now, your username is written to the "portfolio.txt" file so you don't have to input it again every time you run the program. Please remember not to change the "portfolio.txt" file so that the program can read it properly.

Here is the current look of the menu:

There are no major changes, but the display of portfolio value is a little different, using your username, so I decided to include this photo to show the update.

That's all for now! As I always say, I am open to any collaboration, suggestions, or pull requests.

I hope that this project is useful to you. I am completely open to pull requests if anyone wants to contribute.

If you find this useful or helpful to you, please apply an upvote so all of the steemit community can see and use this project! I don't have a huge following on steemit, so I need your help with spreading this project to all who can be helped by it.

This project was created using python3 and it is licensed under the MIT License.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zcgolf16! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

i ran through the steps in terminal. it installed some stuff (i'm a totally newbie at python stuffs) but i can't find the ticker.py where will it be stored?

If you cloned the repository before navigating anywhere, that might be the problem. Try to navigate to your desktop and clone it again.

Let me know if everything is working, alright?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70