Why am Closing my 15000 user a day News website to take up steemit as a fulltime JobsteemCreated with Sketch.

23347434_170225083560403_5038433208748736512_n.jpg
Captioned:My friend Jane

A month back a friend sent me a text,that she was going to indulge in a new favorite pastime money making project on the internet.She sent me the message because she knew I would take this one seriously,she knew I was a writer…and was making money from the internet already through adsense (My website is mycampusjuice.com,the second biggest Blog in Uganda)

So,I ask her, what is it? Her Answer? “ Steemit”. Excuse me ? I replied, She said “ I steemit in the name of Jesus Christ”, She replied with a laughing and writing emoji….I thought she said it in Jest,She knew I was a writer……She went on to explain that there is a social network that pays guys for writing articles.So I replied? So it works like medium? She said no!!! It is a social network,so comments and likes pay,she continued…..I was stunned,so I immediately Googled this so called Steemit….

By that time I was struggling financially with my adsense revenue taking a slump since mid last year…at the start of 2017 I was raking in upto 1000 USD per month,but starting June my RPM,CPC dropped and know I make between 450 – 500 USD a month on the site…….In November I wrote to google asking why my revenue had taken a sudden slump….they told me that am receiving more users from Uganda compared to other European countries and the US which would higher my CPM……So I dind’t have enough money to cover stories and also pay the two Journalist under my company….

So to me this was highway robbery and wanted to opt out,…

So when I google I came to find out from Wikipedia that Steemit is a microbloging and social networking website on top of the Steem blockchain database. The Steem blockchain produces Steem and Steem Dollars which are tradeable tokens users obtain for posting, discovering, and commenting…..

Other People define it as a social networking that is changing people’ lives.My name is Ssewakiryanga Ivan from Kampala Uganda. Am the CEO and founder of Campusjuice,the second biggest blog in Uganda.

When I found out that my friend was making much more money in a week than my entire news company made in a month..I decided to give it a try, and although am still new here,I have faith that I will make it amount Ned Scott and Dan Larimer the whales

Thanks to Ned Scott and Dan Larimer and some exceedingly sophisticated geniuses that invented Steemit.We have a new social network that’s flipped the script world over, and has gotten Mark Zuckerberg the CEO and founder of the biggest social network Facebook worried.The world is off kilter right now and if ever there were a reason not to believe that steemit is the real deal,this is the time. Am Shutting down my site after a 3 months on steemit….

Sort:  

I wish you good fortune @ssewakirayanga! You got my vote.

As an artist I can relate to your story. Steemit is to me an chance to share content with respect. And it looks clean. Hope it stays that way.

love yourself and respect life

You got a 4.70% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @ssewakirayanga!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66