Still out here.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago

'Twould almost seem that my Steem activity inversely correlates with the bitcoin price.

Now with the sudden drop from $9000 still fresh in mind, it seems a fitting time for me to make a new post. Is it mere coincidence, or my own grand design?

It's the former.

I've been frequenting locales lacking internet access (Woe is me!). This trend is set to break quite soon indeed. To the chagrin of my detractors and the delight of my proponents, I'll be back to dust upvoting content I like and making rambling comments again in no time. But enough about me. Lets talk about Steem!

Isn't it cool?

Sure, we've got (more than?) our fair share of abusers, circlejerks, and scams. They're everywhere though; that's nothing new. We've also got a global community active in censorship resistant public discourse. That alone sounds exciting to me, but it goes a bit further than that. There's even an attempt to show the end users the value of what they contribute to that discourse. All in all, it seems pretty neat to me. Hopefully those who would cut open the golden goose don't send it all down the drain. With that in mind...

How's it been while I've been away?

I remember that Steemit changed the 'flag' into a 'downvote' on their UI. I think that negative curation is valuable just like positive curation. Have we seen more downvotes? There's also the other UI change Steemit made, the separation of the wallet from Steemit.com to it's own website. Has that helped anyone, stymied steemians, or just been plain inconsequential? Then there's that foundation structure proposal. If I recall correctly the one titled 'The Merger' is the one that passed. Have you noticed anything different?

Comment iff you want, I'll quite likely respond.

I could probably lurk my way to substantial answers to these questions, of course. There's not as much fun in that though. I've come to enjoy the quality personal engagement that can be found around here, so drop a comment and I'll throw some your way too!

Thanks For Reading!
Sort:  

Greetings, dear friend @a-non-e-moose.

I'm glad you're back after this long absence. Welcome back!

There's also the other UI change Steemit made, the separation of the wallet from Steemit.com to it's own website. Has that helped anyone, stymied steemians, or just been plain inconsequential?

Personally it caused me a lot of bother when I noticed it. Special because there were no previous announcements and then came the whole process to be able to visualize the other keys of steemit. That annoyed me. Benefits? I have not noticed any.

All best, Piotr.

Congratulations @a-non-e-moose! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

WB!

" Have we seen more downvotes?"

Less, IIRC.

HF21 seems to be inevitable at this point, and also (to my eyes) to further enable profiteering versus investment. If I'm right, it'll be a terrible failure, and our position on CMC will quickly reveal this. I've proposed a Huey Long algorithm that addresses the fundamental reasons that profiteering is encouraged, and investing is discouraged. I have attained zero traction, but expect that because all substantial stakeholders are products of the current economy, and therefore almost all profiteers rather than investors.

@theycallmedan has just posted a salient discussion of these matters, and you might be interested in it.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85