Another go at not pissing it all up the wall

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Last day in Mallorca and the realisation there is plenty more work left to do.


g.jpg

So I started that goal with one more beer on this sunny balcony. I'm all packed, printed off some papers that might be useful while I wander around Valencia trying to get registered for social seguridad and taxes, and have just finished cleaning what has been my home for the past 18 months. It's not actually my home (cheers Mum), but it might be half mine in the future, if I can afford to pay Spanish inheritance tax. This will hopefully be many years down the road, but the fact you must pay 25% of the value of a place already owned by a family member is a bit of a joke. Even England isn't that retarded.

When my Dad passed, we had an unresolved argument regarding my daughters surname. Considering I don't have his surname, the chances of me persuading my daughters mum to use that one (since we weren't married) were 0. The fact my surname is on the birth certificate is a bonus and something her mother dislikes, as it means if something did happen to her, I would get full custody, and not her husband. My dad left me his wallet, empty, in his will. Lol

A few years ago I was backdated some salary, I bought 2kg of silver and some shares. Bitcoin was mentioned, but I didn't bother with those. The last I looked, they were being used to buy fake shit in Second Life - surely they weren't going anywhere.

You certainly know what happened to BTC, probably know what's happened to silver since 2013 (fuck all), and can probably guess how my shares have done (abysmally, so where does that leave me? Well, reading @revisesociology's latest on the UK earnings/housing fiasco, up shit creek without a paddle is probably a fair assessment. 75000 pounds is the recommended figure to get on that housing ladder and make a go of it. That number comes with additional terms too, and I suspect that paying 18% of net earnings as child maintenance should be on that list of terms, cause basically I've been paying somewhere in the region of 56% 'tax' for almost 13 years.

The year I started University (as instructed by dad), the house next door was valued at 30000 pounds, 4 years later I graduated and it was sold for almost 90000. An Year long apprenticeship (gas, electrician, plumber, brickie, etc) was at the time considered the weaker option. I know a few guys from school who never listened for a minute, set for life these days for taking the 'dropouts' choice.

Meh, can't change any of that, but I do have a say in what is ahead. And that looks for the time being to be a good few years of graft, even for a small place in the sun, or not.

Tomorrow I fly to Valencia to (re)start work for the United Nations. I've loaned a little from various parties to get set up, but in a few months time will be level, and have some fiat to set on fire move somewhere 'sensible'. The majority certainly won't be staying in my bank account, I've already got a little bullion, fuck the stock market, so the other 'obvious' choice is cryptocurrency.

Likely against all professional financial advice, I'll be going almost all in here. For me, cryptocurrency looks the most likely 10x opportunity, and that's the sort of multiplier I need to sort some bricks out, and not be homeless come retirement age. The likely majority will be held in Steem Power, with some STEEM on the exchanges lying in wait for a repeat of January 2017. Personally I don't see that happening this year, and think mid 2020 or 2021. That'll do for me though, another chance to collect near the bottom, hopefully.

To the people I met at Steemfest, and the many who engage with me frequently here on Steem, good luck to us, see you in Valencia 😁

Asher

Sort:  

I am so glad you have gotten this opportunity and their gain will be our potential loss but I know that we will be constantly on your mind! Look forward to the new experiences to be shared!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks buddy! Yes it does feel like another shot, hopefully things will pan out nicely 😊

It's a great way to look at it the best changer of a 10x multiplier. That's my thinking!! Here's to 10x and beyond!!!

And beyond would mean I could get some carpet and a nice refrigerator - lets go!

Yes man!! A nice fridge is a must, ladies love that!!! ;0D

More room for stake and body parts innit!

Can't move in my fridge for the body parts!!

Better for you than milk anyway 👍🏽😁

I've went right off milk since all the breastfeeding antics in this house. Yeeeuch

Those impromptu facials ain't right, at least we ask!

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.873 which ranks you at #102 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 101).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

'Tomorrow I fly to Valencia ...'

All in all, going from one sunny place to another; you could have done worse mate. Have a good flight and and awesome kick-off at your new job.

Yes for sure, I could have been going back to that expensive rainfest they call Britain.

Cheers, and if you fancy a holiday let me know 😎

Will sure keep that last part in mind. 😎

All the best with your fresh start in Valencia. I have been toying with the idea of a trip to South Spain while the World Cup is on. I could work it from Britain but warmer weather would be nicer if the timezone is still friendly. Are there plenty of ex-pats where you're headed?

Thank you!

Timezome is GMT+1 so much the same as the UK - and a lot more pleasant weather-wise.

I think there will be ex-pats, not too fussed though as there should be enough people who speak OK English when my rubbish Spanish fails me. Cheers!

@abh12345, It's sounding as you are surrounded with many dynamic aspects but, in my opinion enjoying the sunny day and relaxing time will heal for sure. Enjoy brother.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Yes it's a big change but the warm weather and beach will help me settle I'm sure 😎

Welcome and good to hear that brother. Have a fun time ahead.

Very interesting back history.

That 25% tax rule is a joke!

I bet you can't wait to get the buying in process started!

What are yr thoughts on ocdb btw?

Is it legit to use it?!? There's another 10% growth right there.

Best of luck settling in, I guess the upside of a job is that it helps with adapting to a new place.

Your new colleagues are gonna love hearing about how you survived 2 years on nothing but crypto.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah just a skim really, there's probably a post worth on many of those topics.

Inheritance tax, bullshit!

I use OCDB once a week, but have considered using it more often. It is indeed free money.

I told most of these guys to buy when I was there in early 2017, some did and owe me a bloody beer!

Cheers!

The inheritance tax is ridiculous! If your mother sold you (and your sibling) the house now, would that avoid an inheritance tax later down the road? What would be the fallout on that move?

As for where to stick my money? Oh, there is no safe corner to hide it anymore, but my 401K had given me plenty of opportunities to shift over to bonds when it was taking on a dismal tone.

I finally got the guts up to buy some Steem when it was rock bottom - against friends advice and as I watched everyone bailing. I am still happy with the decision. (Oh, not that I am SP big, but, slow and steady)

Good luck on the job and finding a place and those pesky work papers. Find time to insert fun in there! And don't forget your lunch money.

!tip

I think it was a good decision to buy 😁

Not sure if it would be possible to buy the place, I think there is a similar tax on property sales too!

There is a send in my wallet from you, I can't see the memo yet as I'm on my phone - will get to it soon.

Thanks for the work wishes, I'll be packing my lunch to avoid the salty lunches!

I am happy with the buy and watching it grow daily. :)

As for the property: Your mother can either let you inherit the Spanish estate upon her death or else you can buy it outright from her. This is true. I actually looked this part up. While these matters may not seem like a big deal, I always try to think ahead of the money. They have a nasty Buying it outright would be approx 10% of the value of the property without a mortgage and 12% with a mortgage. The Transfer Tax payable is 7% for the buyer and the vendor pays both 19% CGT and Plusvalía tax. This article was helpful. Look here And while these things may not seem too important right now, a brother of mine just passed away three weeks ago, quite unexpectedly and wayyyy too young, and I cannot even begin to tell you of the nightmare with no will. He wasn't prepared.

The send is a small donation towards the contest. Nothing big deal. Sounds like life is getting real once again. Oh, if I were a rich girl... ;) I wouldn't worry about all this little stuff.

fuck the stock market, so the other 'obvious' choice is cryptocurrency.

I played the stock market game and was always two steps behind. even the long term investments tanked.

I am all in with Steem but this had been a hard year for us. the lower Steem price has help in our investment. I try to buy some every month no matter how much.

I wish you all the success

Thanks buddy. Yeah even long term holds have tanked for me, I don't even look anymore!

We went through at least 10-15 years of our earnings years in the negative. We no longer have time in our favor and thus creating a position having to be aggressive.
I am hopping that the next couple years is good to crypto. Mostly Steem.

glad you are getting sorted. Not the plan in the beginning and maybe best it ended up like this now than later on. personally i think we won't have to wait that long and could be sooner than the end of this year. I am in no rush for the markets to explode as like you need to accumulate now as quickly as possible.

Cheers. Yeah no rush this year, accumulation phase activated 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97