You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing TOP 👍 or 👎 FLOP community | Thoughts on TRON | Why we need SMT's | #NEUTRALSTEEM | Fork

in #steem4 years ago

Great to read from you again! Thank you very much!
The Top or Flop Community is an excellent idea! Subscribed!

Your vision of a neutral steem only for the witnesses, who are producing blocks would be a 180 degree turn to the status quo. Hmm . . . renting RC to authors, who urgently need RC to function properly would be very helpful though. On the other hand those authors probably will also have very few SMT tokens for paying the rent . . . I do not know if this kind of compensation for SP holders would work out for both sides. But in any case, it is worth discussing!

I totally agree that forking the chain is a bad idea. A fight between the steem witnesses and JS would in my opinion be exactly the opposite what we want to achieve.

Es ist und bleibt spannend.

Sort:  

Hi Peter,

I try to answer in english, for the audience.

Your vision of a neutral steem only for the witnesses, who are producing blocks would be a 180 degree turn to the status quo. Hmm . . . renting RC to authors, who urgently need RC to function properly would be very helpful though. On the other hand those authors probably will also have very few SMT tokens for paying the rent . . . I do not know if this kind of compensation for SP holders would work out for both sides. But in any case, it is worth discussing!

Because of the basic Resource Credits (RC) problem. Even if the chain scales, it's throughput is still limited somewhere. If every human on earth has a cat, not every human will be able to make one post per day with the picture of his cat. The chain can't lift this from the volume.

My vision is that different projects will compete for the RC resources of the chain. Among them are blogging platforms that provide their good authors with RC by delegation. I envision portals where new authors can introduce themselves and apply off-chain, and the good ones get an account with RC.

But these will compete with the games (and other applications). As a game grows, it will consume even more RC. New players will hardly buy SP, so profitable games will either have to buy SP or rent RC to provide their new players with RC.

This is where renting RC comes into play. Brand new are the Delegation Pools.

https://github.com/steemit/steem/blob/fe1f97be613449ce685760995cb62b79fe0ed1d0/doc/devs/delegation_pools.md

Something like the former minnowbooster or smartsteem, you delegate SP/RC to a pool-account, and this pool-account delegates the RC to the buyer. The pool can then distribute the rental income to the delegates. So from the point of view of the SteemPower owner, there is nothing else to do but delegate his SP to one of the pools, and the pool will take care of the rental and the payment.

I know this is a little abstract. But my recommendation for the normal Steemian would be to save his SP and only cash out his liquid rewards.

BR

Hi and good morning! Thanks so much for your long and detailed reply! This is very much appreciated! I totally understand what you are saying and it is true that in the future steem might run into troubles because - as you say - the blockchain cannot be scaled forever.

I understand the underlying concept of the linked github document, but I am far away from grasping all the technical details.

Anyway, do you think these delegation Pools will be the next big challenge on Steem? How can we as steemians endorse this project or be part of the discussion?

But my recommendation for the normal Steemian would be to save his SP and only cash out his liquid rewards.

I personally - since being on this platform - did not and probably won't cashout any liquid rewards, In the moment I also feel that a PD needs not to be done, unless Justin Sun and his Tron foundation do craazy stuff with the Steem Blockchain. At some point in the future I will give my account to my son anyhow and he can do whatever he wants to do with it.

To close my comment, I have a short question regarding this community you have created, I think your community addresses english written articles only and posted by non German SPEAKING steemians. In my opinion this would make sense because there are already communities for articles written in German by German speaking people. Maybe you could elaborate a little bit on this topic.

Also, in case I understand the concept of communities correctly, one should first post into a community and afterwards the post can be resteemed or added to the own blog and not vice versa, otherwise the "crossed" posts are earning double upvotes (especially from autovoters).

In other words, one should only "cross-post" articles from other authors and not those I have already posted myself on my own blog. What do you think or did I misunderstand here something?

Wishing you a lovely weekend!
Peter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75