plankton l bandwidth and steem power

in #steem6 years ago

Greeting my esteemed Steemians,

20180207_105550.jpg

A couple of days ago, I was experimenting something that I already know. At least from theory and from what my fellow #teammalaysia community had experienced.

What is the effect if we have low Steem Power, so low, that it's lower than we just started joining steemit?

Situation where Steem Power will be lowered.
Before I knew the effect of low Steem Power from this experiment, I learnt something new.

Actually, I know about it but never had the chance to try it out.
Our steem power will be low if we delegate it to others.
However, it is not for free. Through #minnowbooster, @bitrocker2020 found someone who wanted to rent my 97 steem power for 5 weeks in exchange for 5 steems.That is a whopping 39% interest!

Officially a steemit steem lender.
Got it, steem lender, a money lender. Thanks to @bitrocker2020. Hehehe. Cheers.

Without the need to have a license.
I just leased my 97 steem power for 5 steems. However, when the deal was finally sealed, they round up the figure to 100 SP.

It was no big deal to worry about hitting 5 SP at that moment because I really thought that only 97SP were taken and that would leave me with 7SP. More than the 5SP threshold.
But with 100SP taken, that had effectively reduced my SP to lower than 5.
Perfect for my curiosity.
Screenshot_20180207-065057.jpg

Now, the waiting.
I have been very active curating, comment and reply. Before I delegated my SP, I had posted more than 1100 posts.
The first effect that I found was how fast my bandwidth drained out. Almost always I hit the negative mark.

Screenshot_20180205-010625.png
It was not very comfortable feeling when we cannot reply all comments. Especially the Dolphins and above blog post. I was not "satisfied."

Conclusion
To all planktons out there, if you have the intention to lease your SP, make sure you're not hitting the 5 SP thresholdScreenshot_20180207-065128.jpg

Not only making our platform to be in unusable state, we are also risking ourselves to be useless. Our upvote will be "price - less". By using our " price-less" upvote, we only contribute in draining our precious bandwidth juice.

Now I need to wait another 4 weeks, in agony, for the return of my steem POWER.
Arrgghh!!!
Lesson learnt.

On the positive notes, delegate your SP through #minnowbooster is not a bad idea. In fact, it's a brilliant idea if you want to earn additional STEEM. Remember, I got 39% interest from leasing my 100SP. Best part, I will definitely get paid.

Hope that this will help my fellow planktons that have just joined in.

Thank you

@papanog is a General Practitioner who loves to talk about health. In his spare times, he will cook for his family. A new passion is to learn more about how to be a good steemit blogger and promoting steemit.com. Making sure that all contents are written to add value to whoever visits and reads this blog post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73