Sort:  

one of the better plainly stated and well thought out explanations ive heard so far. it's a pity certain people are intent on bringing everyone else down. i wish they would take their sour grapes elsewhere.

I agree. They're wasting resources and devaluing the steem blockchain with this nonsense.

Agreed. Both sides of any flag war are just
burning their VP, trying to hurt the other.
I'd rather see'em upvote their own comments.
At the very least, they'd get something out of it.

I agree, the whole thing is stupid.

I don't know anything about the flag war itself. I mostly post on #gaming.

I have to ask myself, why is one of the best and most useful blockchains in existence right now stagnating while the others are gaining value?

It has almost zero apps and it's stupid to register in the first place.

Steemit is not meritocratic in structure - it is oligarchical.(stake based).
It's that simple.

All flaws stem from this.

My upvote is worthless anyways so I can upvote this without wasting anything.

It seems the concept behind Steem is flawed. One only needs to look at the results to see this. The author reputation system is flawed. Look at what some of the highest rep authors are posting and see this. The idea of getting paid to upvote is flawed. I can find similar ideas in my spam box, "Make money surfing the internet!" this is what click farms in third world countries do. People should upvote because they like a post and want to support the author, not because they know some upvote bots will be jacking up the payout on whatever shitpost of the day they're clicking on is to help them with their ROI. Besides helping a few large stakeholders out what has Steem done right?

As this has begun impacting me - as you relate it has you as well - I have stepped up to the plate. We who have no interest in these flag wars are now on the hook: only our action can create the solution we want. When these flaggots appear on my blog, or impact my comments, I flag now.

Prior to today, I have not been compelled to take action to rein in this behaviour. Steem is intended for the community to have control over this kind of abuse however, and in this case - where tens of thousands of spam comments are being made, robotically cast flags are targeting third parties, and etc. - it's time we stepped up and took action. We have the actual power to end this abuse of our platform.

That's what we need to do. I hope you join me in taking action, at least where this crap impacts your blog, by flagging the flaggots that are depressing the value of Steem for no other reason than they are unreasonable.

Thanks!

Any flag that I could give would just be adding to the nonsense.
Honestly, I'd rather use my voting power to upvote good content.

Me too. But, as you point out, absent control over flaggotry that is harshly impacting Steem, those upvotes aren't of much value.

Not that I have a choice anyway lol.

i think there are bad actors.. the type that money is not an object.

i think this is unaccounted for by steemit. the idea that someone might invest and not care about that investment and instead seek to destroy from within.


second point, steemit has made it clear they want

1 steemit dollar = 1 us dollar

i sense you are hoping it will rise.. but it won't.. at least it isn't meant to be more than that, if it goes higher they will try and bring it back down.


third point.. allowing people multi-accounts = fraud in my book. i only earn steem at X rate. multi-accounts defrauds this, i don't see how steemit can function while allowing this.

These are all good points, especially the multi accounts when they're just used to upvote the primary account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94