You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Inc Disregarded Their Own Terms And Conditions

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I’m sorry but I call bullshit on this change. Like changing the rules is something but this is something else. A raffle is just a completely different thing from voting. I know at least 15 people who didn’t nominate me or someone else because they were already nominated in the raffle.

It’s just different, voting and raffles aren’t “changing conditions” they’re changing the game. I’m not the one to complain and congrats to the winners but this is just bullshit and they ruined a good thing. Just fuck it.

Sort:  

I'm sorry that you had to go through this too. Their rules changes weren't fair. I too thought some people I had nominated had an equal chance as anyone else nominated. That's why I read the terms and conditions before nominating anyone. I wish more people like you will make their feeling heard!

I take responsibility for this one and I apologize. I also appreciate you bringing this to my attention. All I can say is there was no malicious intent. It honestly just seemed like the fair thing to do to go with the people who got the most votes, and I didn't realize that it would upset anyone. But now I certainly see that there is another way to look at it that is valid. This is our first time doing a contest like this, so there's obviously a lot we have to learn. On the whole, however, it seems that far more people are happy with the contestants who got chosen than who are upset that we chose to defer to the will of the crowd. But certainly you've raised valid points and we will be more careful with how we design and execute the rules next time.

It honestly just seemed like the fair thing to do to go with the people who got the most votes

Some people actively told their friends not to vote. The fact that you are repeating this non sense that what you did seemed like it was the fair thing to do is outrageously shocking.

Part of the problem with going with vote-based systems is that they are easy to game.

This is irrelevant. There was no vote-based system in the contest.

it seems that far more people are happy with the contestants who got chosen than who are upset that we chose to defer to the will of the crowd.

You have provided no objective proof of this and even if more people were happy with the result that wouldn't make what you did fair. We've already established it wasn't fair.

I take responsibility for this one.

Responsibility for what exactly? Changing the rules unfairly? If so why not make a formal apology for it and not just a simple comment on my post? Also, why not take full responsibility and offer what was supposed to be offered initially plus what has already been given?

Also, why isn't Steemit Inc's CEO not officially retracting his incorrect statement?

I didn't follow this too closely. At a glance it seems sort of borderline in terms of fairness and I can understand if some people feel a little cheated, but you definitely had the best of intentions.

I really appreciate the measured and respectful response to the community. This particular episode aside, I think you're doing great for this place, keep up the good work andrarchy

No one is aligning malicious intend to what was done. It was just done in an extremely unfair way that had a lot of people work against themselves. I still find myself looking at the comments where I told people that they shouldn't nominate me anymore to see what happened, then realize what I've done to cost myself, really just left in a bad mental state.

With that said. Honestly dude there's a special place in my heart for you specifically, you're the one person I could honestly say I wouldn't be here without as you recovered my account after I stupidly lost again and again. And taking responsibility is all that's needed. Good luck and have fun at the steemfest :)

Yeah, I am pretty pissed right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88