You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An open Letter to those who claim to care

in #steem6 years ago

As with all social experiments it is difficult to predict what humans will do. Some will be altruistic, others driven by greed. I see the extremes of both here on Steem and that is why I find it so interesting. The experiment may fail but I believe valuable lessons will be learned to inform future experiments. The blockchain will be a great statistical resource. I, for one am happy to be part of it whatever the outcome. Of course there are many frustrations along the way but I hope my actions at least illustrate my perspective on how I would like to see its future and I think that is all we can really do.

Sort:  

Of course I agree with you brother... but at the same time, may I ask (i think you've heard of it, because you are a tarazkpian like myself) have you heard of selfish altruism?

It sounds like a paradox, but the concept is quite sound.

Its far fetched for some but I honestly feel it's darn accurate.

Yes I've heard of the term. Richard Dawkin wrote about it in 'The selfish Gene' I look on it like Karma or as Jesus was quoted as saying ' Do un to others as you would have done on to you' ( or something like that.). Jack Nicholson said it more simply ' Why can't we all just get along?'

@meno @ammonite Some would argue that selfishness produces good deeds and good personhood, and selflessness produces punishment and hatred....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87